a space

March 21, 2013 at 12:43 am 10 comments

i live in a space.

i live in a space with walls.

i live in a space with walls i have built.

i live in a space with walls i have built so i can feel safe.

i feel safe.

i feel safe because the walls are lofty.

i feel safe because the walls are lofty and strong.

i feel safe because the walls are lofty and strong and i NEED to feel safe.

my space is small.

my space is small and works for me.

my space is small and works for me because it keeps me safe.

i like my space.

i like my space because i feel safe.

i like my space because i feel safe TO BE ME.

in my space i can be me.

in my space i can be me – THE TRUE ME.

in my space i can be me – THE TRUE ME with no pretense.

in my space there is me.

in my space there is me and my boys.

in my space there is me and my boys and my Pee.

in my space there is me and my boys and my Pee and no other.

in my space there are rules.

in my space there are rules to love.

in my space there are rules to love and be loved.

in my space there are rules to love and be loved and not judge.

in my space there are rules to love and be loved and not judge and to accept.

to some this space may seem limiting.

to some this space may seem limiting and lonely.

I RESPOND

the space and its walls keep away fear.

the space and its walls keep away fear and hurt.

the space and its walls keep away fear and hurt and untrustworthy souls.

BUT

the walls have weaknesses.

the walls have cracks.

the walls are not impenetrable.

THE QUESTION REMAINS

will the walls be destroyed?

will the walls be destroyed and another allowed to enter?

will the walls be destroyed and another allowed to enter the space?

THE ANSWER

only time will tell

and

only HE knows who HE is.

Entry filed under: depression, fears, feelings, life, Personal, poetry, ponderings, Relationships, thoughts, words. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

still so real in the middle

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. merbear74  |  March 21, 2013 at 12:56 am

    This was very sad, yet hopeful. Yes, I defiantly sensed some hope.

    Reply
    • 2. words4jp  |  March 21, 2013 at 12:58 am

      Yes, there is which is an improvement from a few months ago when hope was nowhere to be found.

      Reply
      • 3. merbear74  |  March 21, 2013 at 12:59 am

        Little steps. We heal slow.

      • 4. words4jp  |  March 21, 2013 at 1:07 am

        i try to live by the mantra – Rome was not built in a day.

      • 5. merbear74  |  March 21, 2013 at 1:08 am

        Mine is..A day at a time.

      • 6. words4jp  |  March 21, 2013 at 1:19 am

        i like that – sometimes i take it an hour at a time. i just had this funny memory – bill used to tell me not to get my panty hose in a bundle! then he would say look at our cute little girl – she manages in this life with only 3 legs. then i would look at her and she would look up at me with those pitiful puppy dog eyes (you know how they are good at doing that) – then i’d feel like crap. danggit – she can always play the handicap card!

      • 7. merbear74  |  March 21, 2013 at 1:23 am

        They say dogs know what they are doing..its all in the eyes..from birth!

  • 8. unlovingyou  |  March 21, 2013 at 2:22 am

    i sensed alot of power in this one my friend. alot of hope.

    Reply
  • 9. theadventuresofrosebud  |  March 21, 2013 at 7:17 am

    I love this piece, how you claim, question and respond. It’s very powerful and the emotion behind shines through. Beautiful!

    Reply
  • […] Link to post: A Space by Words4jp […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,310 other subscribers

The Archives


Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Kitty-Kat Chronicles

writing and artsy free spirit

Painted Poems

Make your life a poem.