Friday Flash – Shattered

March 27, 2015 at 1:23 pm 6 comments

Felicity at The Dark Chronicles – http://felicityjohns.com/2015/03/27/friday-flash-shattered/ has a wonderful Friday prompt called Friday Flash.  This week’s challenge is called ‘Shattered’.

This is a prompt – to paraphrase Felicity – this is not of ‘word’ only, but of thoughts. It’s feeling the word you see, writing what you feel and revealing a “break” – whether the “break is mental, physical or meta-physical…the point of no return.”  When I saw Felicity’s post, I knew exactly what she meant and knew I had written a piece which, in my humble opinion, describes all of the above.  Incidentally, it is the first poem I ever wrote (not counting high school) and posted on WordPress.

 ~ Numb ~

I want to feel numb – feel nothing.

Feel no love – when it goes away, I do not have to feel so bad.

Feel no hate.

Feel no guilt – for feeling no love or hate.

Feel no hurt or pain – just a nothing existence.

Numb – be dead.  No feelings of anything, just nothingness.

 

A brief explanation:

This piece was originally written in October of 2010.  I shortly, thereafter, revised it as a result of a derogatory comment made by the person who encouraged me to start blogging in the first place.  As a result of his comments (he was not Bill), I buckled under the pressure and lightened it up a bit. I was uncomfortable with this decision, so I posted it – again – word for original word in March 2012 – this being four days before Bill passed away.  What came next was a nightmare I could never have foreseen.  A long story made short:  when I found Bill’s lifeless body, I went into shock.  My neighbor, who had read this piece online and understood my emotional state at the time, was worried for my physical well-being and I was sent, against my will, to the hospital and kept for the day, under ‘supervision’.  I will continue no further on this matter, except to say I had never felt so blindsided, violated, helpless, humiliated, scared, distraught and completely – totally – alone in all of my life.

I did re-post this one more time in February of 2013, after I began writing again.  It was also a few weeks before what was an extremely difficult one year anniversary of Bill’s passing and I had fallen as emotionally low as a person could go.

Entry filed under: feelings, human nature, life, Personal, poetry, ponderings, thoughts, writing prompt. Tags: , , , , , .

cartography Weekly Photo Challenge – Ephemeral

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Felicity  |  March 27, 2015 at 11:47 pm

    Wow. It’s beautiful, and perfect, and knowing the story behind it only makes it all the more poignant. Thank you for having the strength to share it again. Hugs. 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. words4jp  |  March 27, 2015 at 11:50 pm

      Thank you when I read your prompt I knew it was perfect. For me, anyway. This piece has now been posted 4 times on this blog. Oy. 😌

      Reply
      • 3. Felicity  |  March 27, 2015 at 11:51 pm

        There is nothing wrong with that! 🙂

  • 4. words4jp  |  March 28, 2015 at 12:20 am

    Reblogged this on Beasts of Articulation.

    Reply
  • 5. hitandrun1964  |  March 28, 2015 at 3:54 am

    Your feelings are perfectly understandable. You just had truly HORRIBLE people around you (I won’t say friends, because friends don’t do that to people) I hope you never spoke to them again…EVER. Your poem is spot on and wonderful. I understand it completely.

    Reply
    • 6. words4jp  |  March 28, 2015 at 4:50 pm

      No, I never did. xxx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,915 other followers

The Archives


Samantha The Reader

THE BLOG IS ABOUT BOOKS , BOOKS , BOOKS !

spring tide voice

A Pursuit of Expression

