the puzzle

March 2, 2015 at 2:56 pm 16 comments

there are so many pieces

strewn

about the table.

i carefully organize each

one.

face up, straight edges,

corners, same colors,

and

i sit for hours

~ connecting ~

finding pairs, perfect fits,

arranging and re-arranging

~ watching ~

a snapshot unfold.

minute-by-minute,

piece-by-piece,

until all can be assembled.

i stand and stare

looking down at the gaps.

many pieces are missing or broken.

i take apart each

one,

place them into a box

~ turn ~

and

walk away…

this puzzle may remain as is

~ unfinished ~

in a box

or

not…

only time will tell…

Entry filed under: feelings, human nature, life, Personal, poetry, ponderings, prose, Relationships, thoughts, writing. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

a metronome ~ wishes ~ ~ ~

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. words4jp  |  March 2, 2015 at 3:11 pm

    Reblogged this on Kindred Words.

    Reply
  • 2. georgeforfun  |  March 2, 2015 at 5:44 pm

    Reblogged this on georgeforfun.

    Reply
  • 3. georgeforfun  |  March 2, 2015 at 5:47 pm

    Reblogged this on georgeforfun.

    Reply
  • 4. ladysighs  |  March 2, 2015 at 7:43 pm

    Every year we do a Christmas puzzle and every year there are a couple pieces are missing. 😦 Somebody is not putting them back into the box!!!

    Reply
  • 5. Dom DiFrancesco  |  March 3, 2015 at 12:03 am

    Excellent Kimberly, a terrific piece of writing.

    Reply
    • 6. words4jp  |  March 3, 2015 at 1:27 pm

      thank you so much:) it is a little different style – whatever style it would be – for me. i wanted it to be somewhat fragmented – like a puzzle:)

      Reply
  • 7. hitandrun1964  |  March 3, 2015 at 8:01 pm

    Yeah, we’re all just like that. Nice one Kim.

    Reply
    • 8. words4jp  |  March 4, 2015 at 1:42 pm

      thanks:) i am not certain where the thought of puzzle pieces came from – it is a puzzle i have not enough pieces available in which to answer!!

      Reply
  • 9. LeProsey  |  March 9, 2015 at 3:56 pm

    Yes. I love this. I like everything to have its own place and have things at right angles and sat neatly in an appropriate space.
    My OCD for things like this is very controlling, but I love it.
    Great post.

    Reply
    • 10. words4jp  |  March 10, 2015 at 12:40 am

      I so know what you mean. I started a new job today and let me say….the lack of organization in my ‘spot’ is deplorable. My new bosses cannot wait for me to organize….hummm…not certain if they should be too excited 😉

      Reply
      • 11. LeProsey  |  March 10, 2015 at 6:18 am

        It’ll be rewarding sorting out all the mess. I’m a bit jealous.

      • 12. words4jp  |  March 11, 2015 at 2:16 am

        I was thinking about you today. I was sorting out quite a mess. I kept thinking about you and how you would organize it;)

      • 13. LeProsey  |  March 11, 2015 at 10:44 am

        I once worked with my brother in a clothes shop. I was helping him out when I was in-between jobs by sorting out the stockrooms. They were so bad that I didn’t know where to start. They were also so bad that I had to get my friend in to help. He is also a neat freak. It took us 2 weeks to get things sorted. We made them into the best stockrooms ever. Best job I’ve ever had.
        New poem for later on – Sort Me. Had the idea after our comments.

      • 14. words4jp  |  March 12, 2015 at 11:42 am

        I just met all and I mean all the storage rooms which are a disaster. Oh my – it’s going to be a huge undertaking but I am okay with it. Fun! I am behind on my reader – thanks to the new job and my sin home for spring break – I have your posts in my email. I will get caught up, I promise. xx

  • 15. LeProsey  |  March 12, 2015 at 3:51 pm

    Your “sin” home? Bit harsh on the poor lad. Haha.
    Hope you’re enjoying the sorting
    x

    Reply
    • 16. words4jp  |  March 13, 2015 at 2:08 am

      Damn auto correct. Though – this is an interesting interpretation of son;)
      x

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,919 other followers

The Archives


Samantha The Reader

THE BLOG IS ABOUT BOOKS , BOOKS , BOOKS !

spring tide voice

A Pursuit of Expression

