10 for Tuesday = ten word story #3

February 10, 2015 at 3:51 pm 40 comments

*

*

“If I continue working with you,

it will destroy me.”

*

*

*

a note:   After having spent 10 years working for a company, established by my very, very best and closest friend, I recently left my place of employment.  I gave all that I could to a business which gave me everything and after Bill’s death, it took more than I ever thought I had – to give – to run a business without the person whose life ‘was’ the business.   Since the sale of the company,  I continued to remain faithful to Bill’s vision but his ways and that of the new owner, though I knew there would be differences, could never be more opposite from one another.    In the past half a year, I have been watching a slow death unfold in front of my eyes and I have decided I cannot go through losing Bill a second time.

*

one more note:  Please excuse my lack of attention when it comes to my time – my life – here.  Yes, I am looking for a job and this is having to take priority, though I will say… I do need my WP family – I adore all of you.

 

Entry filed under: 10 word Tuesday, conversation, feelings, grief, human nature, life, Personal, Relationships, Ten Word Tuesday. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Weekly Pet Share – soaking up some rays ~ ~ ~ sometimes ~

40 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Green Embers  |  February 10, 2015 at 3:58 pm

    Good luck in your job hunt! Sorry to see that you are in a job hunt though 😦

    Reply
    • 2. words4jp  |  February 10, 2015 at 11:14 pm

      it is what it is – to be honest, i should have done this much sooner, I just did not have the courage. not certain what brought on the courage, however, i just woke up and decided i could not go into work. 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. kittykatsbitsandbobs  |  February 10, 2015 at 3:59 pm

    I love the concept of a ten word story! Is this an event open to all?

    Reply
    • 4. words4jp  |  February 10, 2015 at 4:42 pm

      Hi – I am sorry for my slow response – I saw that you have begun hanging out here – welcome and thank you so much for the follow. I will say Felicity is a totally awesome chick and any friend of hers is a friend of mine:). In regards to your question, I have been writing six word stories and ten word stories on my tumblr, so, I do not know if here is an ‘official’ link site or, such a thing. For the six word sentences there is – Six Word Sentence Saturday. If you scroll back to my last Saturday’s post, you will find the link. I would be more than happy to provide it now, however, I am on my iPad and a total technological illiterate when it comes to using the apps for WP (lately they have been a bit off). Maybe we should start a Tuesday 10 Word Story? I have not a clue how, but I am willing to give a try….with some help;). xxx

      Reply
      • 5. kittykatsbitsandbobs  |  February 10, 2015 at 4:49 pm

        Good to meet you! Yes she is pretty amazing! Did you get an advance PDF of EP?
        I did a 10 worder on my blog… damn I should’ve linked you in, sorry! However, I suspect I did it wrong as I left it at 10 words and no explanation! Doh!
        I saw the 6WS too and will have a go at that too. I am trying to do little exercises like these to hone my writing and also to drive a bit more traffic to my blogs. And, of course, to make new friends such as your good self!
        I am pretty crap at setting up things like that too… I think tag it 10 Word Tuesday and hope it takes off? or 10WT maybe?
        The blind leading the blind huh?! haha!

      • 6. words4jp  |  February 10, 2015 at 4:55 pm

        Yes, I did get an advance copy. I have yet to sit and read it – I need a quiet mind, which at the moment is loud as all hell. I received it yesterday about a half an hour before a job interview. I will get to reading it as soon as I can – I am excited about it;)

        I love writing these little stories – it is fun to reduce your thoughts in such few words. I enjoy the challenge of having them pack a punch or vague, in which they can be interpreted in more than one way. Sometimes, I believe simplicity is the most difficult. In regards to tags, I use Tuesday, ten word Tuesday, ten word story. Like the Weekly Pet Share or Six Word Sentence Saturday – I tag the title and use ‘prompt’. Yep – blind leading the blind….that would be me:)

        I need to check out your neck of the woods;)

      • 7. kittykatsbitsandbobs  |  February 10, 2015 at 5:01 pm

        I read the whole thing this morning and it ROCKS! You will really love it!
        Oh! I hope the interview went well for you! Fingers crossed babe!
        I would love you to check out my stuff! I’m looking down though yours right now.
        I have 3 blogs! Two erotica and one a bit like yours, my life and thoughts etc… And my dogs!
        It’s great to make a new blogger friend!
        K

      • 8. words4jp  |  February 10, 2015 at 10:43 pm

        I am looking forward to perusing your ‘writes’ 🙂 At the moment i am taking a time out from craigslist……..

  • 9. Yoshiko  |  February 10, 2015 at 3:59 pm

    Hope you get a job soon.

    Reply
    • 10. words4jp  |  February 10, 2015 at 11:13 pm

      thanks – me too:)

      Reply
      • 11. Yoshiko  |  February 11, 2015 at 4:49 am

        Welcome 🙂

  • 12. Americana Injustica  |  February 10, 2015 at 4:23 pm

    You hang in there VooDoo!

    Reply
    • 13. words4jp  |  February 10, 2015 at 11:12 pm

      thank you – i am trying. i may need to resort to sacrificing a chicken soon – no worries, not a real one and i do not even eat meat – i will buy a can of chicken dog food for Pee:) this should work!

      Reply
      • 14. Americana Injustica  |  February 10, 2015 at 11:24 pm

        Hey…I wasn’t gonna say anything…:-D

      • 15. words4jp  |  February 11, 2015 at 2:40 am

        🐓🐓🐓🐓🐓🐓🐓🐓🐓🐓🐓🐓🐓😜

  • 16. joeyfullystated  |  February 10, 2015 at 4:59 pm

    Wishing you all the best 🙂

    Reply
    • 17. words4jp  |  February 10, 2015 at 10:59 pm

      thank you:) very much:)

      Reply
  • 18. kabirgandhiok  |  February 10, 2015 at 5:37 pm

    All the best to you dear friend, being on the lookout for a job can be a testing time, but I’m sure you’ll come out of it sooner than you think. Hang in there!

    Reply
    • 19. words4jp  |  February 10, 2015 at 10:32 pm

      thank you – yes, it is a bit of a test. I am afraid i did not prepare before i made the break – but I will persevere. i managed to do just that when Bill passed away. xx

      Reply
  • 20. redgladiola  |  February 10, 2015 at 5:55 pm

    *hugs* I’m hoping good things come your way soon. I know what’s it’s like to have stayed for years at a place I initially liked but later hated and felt trapped in. I’m sure Bill wouldn’t have wanted you to stay if it was hurting you.

    Reply
    • 21. words4jp  |  February 10, 2015 at 10:31 pm

      i remember Bill saying on occasion – especially when the economy tanked, that he would leave the business in a heart beat if he could. i agree – he would not want me to be so unhappy that i would dread waking up everyday. thank you for your lovely words:) xxxx

      Reply
  • 22. Dom DiFrancesco  |  February 10, 2015 at 7:22 pm

    How very sad to watch something someone you love built crumble right before your eyes. It probably was best you left if for no other reason than to keep your sanity. Best of luck in this next stage in your life my friend.

    Reply
    • 23. words4jp  |  February 10, 2015 at 10:28 pm

      thanks – it is hard to say good bye to a huge part of my life – i knew Bill for almost 13 years – and his business was him – and he was his business. the boys used to help out. Peyton made three of his pinewood derby cars in the shop (under bill’s watchful eye, of course and they all on trophies). He would take them up in the bucket and for drives in the big trucks. I can drive down the street from my house and see his handiwork – my handiwork… there is such a rich history…i will miss it.

      Reply
  • 24. georgeforfun  |  February 10, 2015 at 9:04 pm

    Reblogged this on georgeforfun.

    Reply
  • 25. MichelleMarie  |  February 10, 2015 at 10:38 pm

    I believe in you and I believe there are good things coming your way. You know it is my way to always believe in you! I love these! I love you! Go Kim! ❤

    Reply
  • 26. Dan McGaffin  |  February 11, 2015 at 12:10 am

    I adore you too dear one. *hug* Good luck on the job hunt and if you ever want to talk, you know my number. =)

    Reply
  • 27. hitandrun1964  |  February 11, 2015 at 12:13 am

    I hope you find the perfect job. You couldn’t have stayed in that awful place. The door opened and you walked through it and now you just need to find the next door:)

    Reply
    • 28. words4jp  |  February 11, 2015 at 2:35 am

      Thank you. Your words are so beautiful. Thank you. xx

      Reply
  • 29. JMC813  |  February 11, 2015 at 1:59 am

    I am sorry you had to go through this. I can personally relate to the change in ownership of the company and the ridiculous changes and excruciatingly intolerable shifts in direction and focus. I understand completely your decision to leave rather than see a loved ones vision disrespected and lost. My best wishes to you in your search for new employment, and I hope you find something you truly enjoy. Be well friend.

    Reply
    • 30. words4jp  |  February 11, 2015 at 2:30 am

      Thank you. In many ways I feel better now that I do not work with this man anymore. I have been sleeping and actually do not mind getting up in the morning. I do feel bad for customers I have abandoned. but I had to quit. I really had to quit. xx

      Reply
      • 31. JMC813  |  February 11, 2015 at 2:39 am

        Understood. It is good you recognized this and made the decision you did, as hard as it must have been for you. Here is to bigger and better things down the road for you.. Sydnee Pee is probably glad to have you around a bit more at least for the time being too. LOL.

      • 32. words4jp  |  February 11, 2015 at 2:43 am

        How did you guess? She is following me around and sits with me in my home office. Yes, she is digging having mom home:)

      • 33. JMC813  |  February 11, 2015 at 2:54 am

        Thought so. You two make a great team.

      • 34. words4jp  |  February 11, 2015 at 3:06 pm

        woof woof and a lickie, too:)

  • 35. LorB  |  February 11, 2015 at 5:45 pm

    Good luck to you… Hope you find one real soon.. Much blessings to you…

    Reply
    • 36. words4jp  |  February 12, 2015 at 2:47 am

      Thank you. I hope, too;). I appreciate you thoughtful words. xx

      Reply
  • 37. Brenda Davis Harsham  |  February 12, 2015 at 1:16 am

    Good luck with the job hunt, the peace of mind, and the juggling of needs.

    Reply
    • 38. words4jp  |  February 12, 2015 at 2:08 am

      Thank you. xx

      Reply
  • 39. scottishmomus  |  February 16, 2015 at 11:29 pm

    All the very best of luck in finding fulfilling work. We’re too long engaged in its grip to be in a place that makes us unhappy.

    Reply
    • 40. words4jp  |  February 17, 2015 at 2:40 am

      Thanks. I am still looking……I could not take it anymore. I really could not. 😌

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,928 other followers

The Archives


Samantha The Reader

THE BLOG IS ABOUT BOOKS , BOOKS , BOOKS !

spring tide voice

A Pursuit of Expression

