choreography of a broken dream

January 6, 2015 at 1:45 pm 24 comments

~

he reached out ~ she took his hand ~

he spun her around

while

pulling her in.

he lifted her up ~ he set her down ~

he walked away

and

she cried.

~

no more music ~ no more light ~

alone on stage

with

only tears.

~

knowing a love

could no longer be,

her forever dream

had

disappeared.

~

scan0001

Cincinnati Opera production of Carousel 1983

~

Entry filed under: dance, feelings, human nature, life, love, Personal, poetry, ponderings, Relationships, thoughts, writing. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Weekly Pet Challenge – Stretching 101 final curtain call ~

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Richard Ankers  |  January 6, 2015 at 1:55 pm

    A piece that means a lot to you, I think?

    Reply
  • 2. littleannab  |  January 6, 2015 at 2:03 pm

    Reblogged this on Little Anna B (Anna Bianca) and commented:
    Beautifully written

    Reply
  • 3. bruisedbelly  |  January 6, 2015 at 2:29 pm

    This is simply beautiful!!! Heartbreaking, but beautiful.

    Reply
    • 4. words4jp  |  January 6, 2015 at 5:27 pm

      Thank you – I told Richard yesterday on a post titled “My Dance” that “i have come to the conclusion that the only thing i can identify with when it comes to affairs of the heart is dance. i do not have to have a partner to dance with – dance is the partner. not an animate object, i know, but in many ways it is – for me. it will never break my heart and walk away. what more could i ask for?” So with that said – screw the animate hearts. With the exception of my children, i want no others.

      Reply
      • 5. bruisedbelly  |  January 6, 2015 at 6:33 pm

        Well then, dance the dance of the dance and be happy 🙂

  • 6. JMC813  |  January 6, 2015 at 6:51 pm

    Sadly, touchingly beautiful. I love this.

    Reply
    • 7. words4jp  |  January 6, 2015 at 11:12 pm

      Thank you very much. I told you it was different than yours. I have other pieces that are a bit more ‘upbeat’ or shall I say positive. I wrote this really as a metaphor for a relationship – but – it can be any sort of relationship. Not necessarily between two people or lovers or anything really. For me, this piece is how I see life. In a nutshell. The ending is, for me, typical in many ways. However, where my children are concerned, it is not.

      Reply
  • 8. nottooold2  |  January 6, 2015 at 9:07 pm

    After all the work, practice, training and rehersal… What does it feel after the final performance? Sadness, relief, mixture, anticipation of the next adventure??? This interests me.

    Reply
    • 9. words4jp  |  January 6, 2015 at 11:02 pm

      All of the above really. Depending where you are in your career, it is a either looking forward to the next goal – raising the bar of excellence or you are lost….not knowing what to do next, where to go… I was thinking about this when I was driving home from work – it is about purpose. I would not have thought ‘purpose’ 20-some years ago, but it is purpose. When the purpose no longer exists, you feel lost. Broken. In many ways, that never truly disappears. I speak from experience on that. You spend 20 years of your life knowing what you are going to do and what you need to do to do it. Everyday you wake up with this drive and you are constantly feeding it. Sometimes you are smart and sometimes you are stupid. But you feed it. You have to, because it is who you are – there is no differentiation between a person and a dancer or a daughter or a friend or a wife, even. You are a dancer.

      Reply
      • 10. nottooold2  |  January 7, 2015 at 12:08 am

        Can you teach? Every purpose has more than one angle. Just a theory. 🙂

      • 11. words4jp  |  January 7, 2015 at 2:01 am

        I have never wanted to teach dance.

      • 12. nottooold2  |  January 7, 2015 at 11:15 am

        That is too bad for any potential student because you seem to have the heart of a teacher. 🙂

      • 13. words4jp  |  January 7, 2015 at 11:42 am

        It is hard for me to put into words why this is, it just is. I cant teach something that i want too badly to do myself. In case you havent noticed, i do not let go easily if at all and if there is one thing i have not been able to let go of, it is fact that i do not dance anymore and the ‘stuff’ which led to the decision.

      • 14. nottooold2  |  January 7, 2015 at 1:42 pm

        That makes complete sense!!!!
        Maybe some day. It is my not so humble opinion that gifts are meant to be shared, but the time and feeling must be right. So….maybe. Sound fair? 😉

      • 15. words4jp  |  January 7, 2015 at 1:53 pm

        Below are the only two posts for the 2/2012. A few weeks later, my best friend died unexpectedly. and my life changed – forever. I was going to return to the studio…if at least to take class.

        https://words4jp.wordpress.com/2012/02/08/it-has-been-24-years/

        https://words4jp.wordpress.com/2012/02/09/i-did-it/

      • 16. nottooold2  |  January 7, 2015 at 3:53 pm

        I will check them out and ask that you promise to understand that I too have been through terrible loss in my life. And yet for some reason maintain a generally optimist outlook on life and living. Deal?

      • 17. words4jp  |  January 7, 2015 at 4:07 pm

        You think i do not understand? I am not so self absorbed that i am blind to others and their losses and hardships.

      • 18. nottooold2  |  January 7, 2015 at 4:19 pm

        Sheesh Kimberly… I wasn’t making any judgments. Simply trying to say we all interpret life our own way. Nothing more, nothing less. It’s a bummer you took my words as negative. 😦 Not my intention.

  • 19. Dom DiFrancesco  |  January 6, 2015 at 9:23 pm

    It is sad to have to leave behind something that you love so much, I can really feel it in this piece. Very beautiful Kimberly. 😦

    Reply
    • 20. words4jp  |  January 6, 2015 at 10:42 pm

      Thank you. It sort of encompasses a lot of things, really – and they all have broken.

      Reply
      • 21. Dom DiFrancesco  |  January 6, 2015 at 11:38 pm

        Sometimes it just helps to get it out, I just hope that some of your broken things can someday mend.

  • 22. Paul Handover  |  January 7, 2015 at 12:01 am

    Can’t add to the wisdom offered above. Just will say that sharing your feelings so openly is brave, beautiful and healing. Big hugs.

    Reply
    • 23. words4jp  |  January 7, 2015 at 2:01 am

      Thank you:)

      Reply
  • 24. Ms. Vee  |  January 13, 2015 at 1:45 am

    Beautifully sad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,915 other followers

The Archives


Samantha The Reader

THE BLOG IS ABOUT BOOKS , BOOKS , BOOKS !

spring tide voice

A Pursuit of Expression

