whiskey

December 18, 2014 at 4:30 pm 12 comments

~

he would pour himself into a shot glass

and

drink his soul away ~

away from those he loved dearly

and

the world around him

~ everyday ~

~

he would bathe his spirit in a slow, slow burn ~

allowing the heat to dissolve his pain.

he did not care to live his life ~

only

to drown himself in shame.

~

there was nothing we could have done,

except stand by him

and

reluctantly watch

ζ

and

ζ

love a man with a spirit

so broken,

so conflicted

and

so despondently

lost

~

~

Entry filed under: addiction, alcoholism, depression, father, feelings, life, mental illness, Personal, poetry, ponderings, Relationships, thoughts. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

the magical pine forest another night, another candle

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ahhsioux  |  December 18, 2014 at 4:47 pm

    I don’t watch. I care. I reach out through a living caring heart. is this not what HE told us to do? Again, I love this man in his conflict.

    He soon discovers that he has no need to be ashamed for he has been forgiven by HIM.

    He therefore understands that he is not to compare self to others, for each is here on their own personal journey–guilt is relieved.

    And last, through HIM he knows and understands that ALL of the flesh beR pain and he is NOT alone but more ALIKE others..

    So he listens to HIM and honors his word in serving his fellow man through the fruits of HIS given tallents…

    And does so forever more.

    Leading an example for ALL to see, learn and then BE themselves.

    I thank you dear loved ONE of mine.

    HIS Disciple of LOVE,
    Rising Angel 👼

    Reply
    • 2. words4jp  |  December 19, 2014 at 7:47 pm

      I apologize for not responding to this sooner. I wanted to gather my thoughts – most importantly I wanted to address your first paragraph. I did watch this person. I did more than watch this person – i loved him and i lived with him for 18 years and i did all that i could to help him. but in the end, he made his choice. he was my father. even after i left home, i tried. i tried till the very end. ultimately he died in the same manner in which he chose to live.

      Reply
  • 3. hitandrun1964  |  December 18, 2014 at 4:48 pm

    Beautifully said and there are too many people in that same condition. Don’t you think that we would realize that something is wrong with society, if that many people are trying to forget they are alive? Instead of telling people to stop drinking maybe we should, as a collective group, try and make the world a better place in which to live.

    Reply
    • 4. words4jp  |  December 18, 2014 at 4:55 pm

      I agree. I wrote this piece because of a poem I read about the ‘heat’ one feels when drinking and, as well as, using it as a metaphor for passion. I can understand it, but my interpretation is different. All i can remember is the look on my father’s face when he slammed a shot of JD down his throat. I kept thinking how can something so terrible tasting feel so good or be so important that it takes over a person’s life with no regard to anything or anyone else – most notably myself and my mom? The slow, slow burn – I see nothing sexy about it or pleasurable. i am not passing judgement, I just was thinking about something from my past, which was triggered by something I read.

      Reply
  • 5. InfiniteZip  |  December 18, 2014 at 4:48 pm

    A sad post but I knew someone like this once…heartbreaking.

    Reply
    • 6. words4jp  |  December 18, 2014 at 4:57 pm

      I just wrote a comment to Gigi about this piece. You are right, it is heartbreaking.

      Reply
  • 7. Paul Handover  |  December 18, 2014 at 9:20 pm

    So many demons in the world.

    Reply
    • 8. words4jp  |  December 19, 2014 at 2:48 am

      I know. Unfortunately he never conquered his.

      Reply
  • 9. thehappyhugger  |  December 19, 2014 at 1:33 pm

    This made me think of someone I know too. Your poem helped me to have more insight in to the problem, thank you.

    Reply
    • 10. words4jp  |  December 19, 2014 at 7:32 pm

      you are welcome. i had a written a response to a comment made regarding my ‘inspiration’ so-to-speak in writing this piece. – “I wrote this piece because of a poem I read about the ‘heat’ one feels when drinking and, as well as, using it as a metaphor for passion. I can understand it, but my interpretation is different. All i can remember is the look on my father’s face when he slammed a shot of JD down his throat. I kept thinking how can something so terrible tasting feel so good or be so important that it takes over a person’s life with no regard to anything or anyone else – most notably myself and my mom? The slow, slow burn – I see nothing sexy about it or pleasurable. i am not passing judgement, I just was thinking about something from my past, which was triggered by something I read.” xx

      Reply
  • 11. Dom DiFrancesco  |  December 21, 2014 at 3:04 am

    I knew who this one was about as I can relate. It is sad, but unless the person wants to help themselves unfortunately all we can do is love them an hope that they can change before it is too late. Beautiful sad piece my friend.

    Reply
    • 12. words4jp  |  December 21, 2014 at 4:08 am

      Thanks. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,915 other followers

The Archives


Samantha The Reader

THE BLOG IS ABOUT BOOKS , BOOKS , BOOKS !

spring tide voice

A Pursuit of Expression

