why?

September 18, 2014 at 3:30 pm 33 comments

~

why?

~

why do we have to die?

family, friends, pets – why?

~

why does death have to be a part of life?

~

the pain, the sadness, the tears – why?

~

why do those we love have to go away?

~

why can’t they stay for one more day?

~

one more day so we can say all that we need to say ~

~

one last time ~

~

a last “i am sorry”

a last “i thank you”

a last “i will miss you”

a last “i love you”

~

the last “goodbye”

~

why?

~

please tell me why?

~

Entry filed under: answers, death, family, feelings, friends, grief, human nature, life, loss, love, passage of time, Personal, poetry, ponderings, prose, questions, reflections, Relationships, thoughts, writing. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

broken words a midnight stroll…

33 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Yoshiko  |  September 18, 2014 at 3:35 pm

    That is always everyone’s question.

    Reply
  • 2. Debbie Hayes Johnson  |  September 18, 2014 at 4:16 pm

    I have enjoyed your blog so much I have nominated you for the Leibster award. Should you choose to accept come to my blog to find the guidelines. http://debbiesjourneytohealthandhope.com

    Reply
  • 3. hitandrun1964  |  September 18, 2014 at 4:16 pm

    I think we die when we are finished with our part of the illusion/game. We just pick up our monopoly piece and move on…to the next illusion/game. We will quit playing and your words will be said by those we leave behind. There is never one more day, or one more chance, that’s why we always have to say everything we want to say when we can. Still, I agree, it’s a cruel and vicious game we play…our loved ones…human and companion animals alike…leave us here alone and when they go, the game changes and so do we.

    Reply
  • 4. ectoplasmofthesoul  |  September 18, 2014 at 5:00 pm

    Quite like these though: http://www.prettyballerinas.com/women.html#url=women/shirley-28398.html

    Reply
  • 5. poetslave  |  September 18, 2014 at 5:02 pm

    Rubbish, Ectoplasm, thes Cyndi Lauper ones are way better: http://www.prettyballerinas.com/women.html#url=women/lena-19197.html

    Reply
  • 6. Dom DiFrancesco  |  September 18, 2014 at 6:10 pm

    I wish I had the answer. I know it is just the way it is…the cycle of life so to speak, but that certainly doesn’t make it any easier or less painful. 😦

    Reply
  • 7. globalunison  |  September 18, 2014 at 7:56 pm

    This why is everybody’s question. It’s very well written Kim, I felt all the emotions on this piece 🙂

    -Naima

    Reply
  • 8. Paul Handover  |  September 18, 2014 at 8:23 pm

    Surely death gives life real meaning. Penned by someone who does not believe in ‘life after death’.

    Reply
  • 9. redgladiola  |  September 19, 2014 at 2:21 am

    There’s a musical where a vampire is trying to convince his beloved to turn and he sings “Why must we be born only to die?,” and sums up immortality as, “We’ll always have tomorrow.”

    =( *hugs*

    Reply
    • 10. words4jp  |  September 19, 2014 at 12:16 pm

      Yes – this is true:) hugs back:)

      Reply
  • 11. Dormis Aeternitas  |  September 19, 2014 at 3:53 am

    this life is filled with many questions and very few answers. I stopped asking why because you’ll never get the answer…

    Reply
    • 12. words4jp  |  September 19, 2014 at 12:13 pm

      i agree with you – i wrote this a while back – it does seem pointless to ask these questions when we know full well there are no answers. i still do it from time to time, though. i really should not – but then again, they do provide material for writing…….. 🙂

      Reply
      • 13. Dormis Aeternitas  |  September 19, 2014 at 4:41 pm

        yeah agree. 🙂

      • 14. words4jp  |  September 20, 2014 at 3:04 am

        😉 xx

      • 15. Dormis Aeternitas  |  September 20, 2014 at 3:13 am

        ((X))

      • 16. Dormis Aeternitas  |  September 20, 2014 at 4:21 pm

        a plausible answer came to me last night, prompted by a two line post of someone that I follow. God realized that death would cure all pain… 🙂

      • 17. words4jp  |  September 20, 2014 at 4:32 pm

        Yes, this is true. I remember my mom wanting to die, because she no longer wanted to feel pain – physically and emotionally.

      • 18. Dormis Aeternitas  |  September 20, 2014 at 4:38 pm

        yeah my dad asked me to contact Dr. Death (Kevorkian) because he was in so much pain and even morphine didn’t quell his pain. he died one week later – thank Goodness! So that’s one reason why that I’ve come to see as a good one!

      • 19. words4jp  |  September 20, 2014 at 4:40 pm

        xxxx

      • 20. Dormis Aeternitas  |  September 20, 2014 at 4:54 pm

        and he was man of very strong religious faith and beliefs. So to hear him ask this let me know just how extreme his suffering really was at that point. ((X))

      • 21. words4jp  |  September 20, 2014 at 5:01 pm

        xxxx

      • 22. words4jp  |  September 20, 2014 at 5:34 pm

        I had to make the choice for my dad – of which – I really did not need to make. He told me what he wanted – but he wasn’t terminal like my mom. He could have chosen a few more moths to live. But he chose his booze and cigarettes over myself and his grandsons. I made the decision – I respected his wishes.

      • 23. Dormis Aeternitas  |  September 20, 2014 at 5:41 pm

        that’s all you can do. We can’t force anyone to do anything, and addictions cannot be controlled by the addict. I’ve lost two siblings to this and have come to learn that people make their choices and then they get to live or die with them. And IMO people with addictions are the most selfish people you’ll ever have to deal with in your life because it is always all about them and their addictions. And not even God and all his angels will change that because we were given ‘free will’.

      • 24. words4jp  |  September 20, 2014 at 5:48 pm

        I know. I have dealt my entire life with trying to let go of the what ifs and whys. In some ways I have come to some level of acceptance. But in many ways, I will always think about it. It is the flashing of head vs heart.

      • 25. Dormis Aeternitas  |  September 20, 2014 at 5:58 pm

        nah your head must rule on these things. Your heart will just bury you in rubble of sadness and despair because there really is nothing you can do – it is beyond your control and power. I’ve learned that from my life experience so far. You have to let it go, bury it, and keep it out of your mind and soul as much as possible.

      • 26. words4jp  |  September 20, 2014 at 4:39 pm

        I should clarify a bit of what I just wrote – my mom was diagnosed with stage 4 pancreatic cancer. And I was the only person who could make the DNR decision – do not resuscitate. I had her and my father’s power of attorney. My father was on a major bender – drunk, as always. I asked her what I should do – I did not want to make that decision. She told me she wanted peace. That was it. I knew what that meant – in as much as it hurt to hear it and to tell sign the legal docs, I knew it was what wanted and it was the right thing to do.

      • 27. Dormis Aeternitas  |  September 20, 2014 at 4:53 pm

        yes I would do the same thing in a heartbeat. My dad had terminal cancer and suffered for 9 months before he passed. It was awful to watch. So the DNR is a good thing and when it is someone’s wishes even easier to carry out. A nurse told us that when people just cannot do this but it should be done – they should place decision in the doctors hands, and leave decision up to them. Then a person who just cannot do this, knows a professional saw it as the only solution and best thing. I do not want to see anyone suffer like that – period.

  • 28. MichelleMarie  |  September 19, 2014 at 5:00 pm

    Kim I agree with Dormis! He always seems to have so much wisdom! He’s one of my favorites too! I love this! I don’t ask why either! 😀 ❤

    Reply
    • 29. words4jp  |  September 20, 2014 at 3:01 am

      Thanks Michelle:). xxoo

      Reply
  • 30. lumar1298  |  September 20, 2014 at 9:13 pm

    Circle of life…

    Reply
  • 31. Planet Dream Diaries  |  September 23, 2014 at 4:44 pm

    Either so that we can appreciate the full magnitude of life (you appreciate what doesn’t last forever more than something that would), or simply because we only come here for a “season” – and we know that in advance – it’s a mere stepping stone in the vast eternal something or other that we’re a part of (for me it’s both). If I weren’t as hugely spiritual as I am (though I follow no religion at all – but respect those who do), I would never be okay with death – it would be an illogical, horrific and impossible scenario for me to deal with if not for all that I believe in, and I hold onto those beliefs strongly – if I didn’t, I’d be faced with what I just described. I’ve lost loves of my life – inclusive of my greatest love of all, my mother — and I miss her in ways that no words, time or poetry could ever describe, it’s with me all of the time, every moment of every single day – an ache, something huge and gigantic missing … but because of what I believe, I haven’t lost my mind. I was fortunate though, I was able to do every “last” that you described – whereas with a lifelong best friend I was not that fortunate. You just have to believe that death isn’t death – it isn’t the end, we’re merely in one chapter that one person has already finished and we’ll eventually catch up with them once we finish reading. ❤

    Reply
  • 32. cindy knoke  |  October 5, 2014 at 1:21 am

    so sad and well written!

    Reply
    • 33. words4jp  |  October 5, 2014 at 1:29 pm

      thank you:)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,928 other followers

The Archives


Samantha The Reader

THE BLOG IS ABOUT BOOKS , BOOKS , BOOKS !

spring tide voice

A Pursuit of Expression

