Checking in –

August 18, 2014 at 7:57 pm 48 comments

Hello –

I wanted to say hi and to let y’all know I am still present, alive and kicking – sort of. Before I get into the ‘sort of’ – here is what is happening. Jordan is now 6 1/2 hours away at school. Today is the first day of year two. His dorm is the same. His dorm room is three doors down from last year’s. His room mate is a photography major and a sophomore who, apparently really loves coffee. He is bringing two different types of coffee pots. Yowza.

I just received word today that Peyton made the soccer team. He is still planning on working during the school year – a few hours on the weekends and he will be taking the ACT in October. He is ramping up his National Honor Society work and planning on visiting colleges in the next few months. The youngin’ wants to go into chemical engineering with an emphasis on food science. The schools on the ‘visiting menu’ are Purdue University, University of Missouri, University of Minnesota, one of the big Iowa schools and Michigan State. He is, also, hoping to take a trip to the University of Cincinnati, which is both his father’s and my alma mater.

Sydnee Pee is depressed. She misses her brothers. She always forgoes food for a few days and looks way beyond forlorn. She will be fine. Peyton returns on Thursday and her ‘kinda hop and skip’ will return.

It has been a long summer and one that I can say was spent mostly behind the wheel of Starla – my car. I managed to put over 4,000 miles on the car since the middle of June. What is so strange about this is the car never went anywhere – I never took it over the state line, or even downtown Chicago. It was all between 3 jobs and a week of soccer camp. With that said, work has been atrocious. Busy and, well, I will say no more about that.

As those of you who follow me know, my writing and reading has been suffering quite a bit. Lack of time and sometimes inspiration, though driving and clouds have provided quite a bit of fodder of which to poetically elaborate. I do want to say, that I have a piece which I have been composing throughout the summer and I hope to have completed soon. I am getting in touch with my Tchaikovsky roots….

Now, in reference to the sort of alive and kicking. I hurt myself over the weekend. It seems I have re-injured a herniated disc issue. It happened Saturday evening and I have been existing on Advil/Tylenol, ice packs, heats pads, ointments…. And on the floor. A matter of fact, I am typing while lying on my big foam roller on the kitchen floor. I am trying to get a handle on this – the last incident saw two failed spinal injections and a last minute refusal to undergo a spinal fusion. Of course that was back in 1999, I was younger and in better shape and was married. Now I am on the cusp of turning the yucky five-o (next year) and I have a stubborn 55lb three legged dog with arthritis, who needs to be taken outside on a leash, a boost up stairs and on the couch. I do know I can overcome this – 20 years of dancing and a high tolerance for pain plus 20 years of teaching fitness and Pilates – I am aware of alignment, stretching, strengthening… I managed to overcome it back in 1999 which eventually led me to triathlon training, which eventually led me to an Ironman. I keep telling myself – trying to convince myself I will get through it – thus the last few sentences. I am certain this latest saga will inspire some interesting writing…so stay tuned:)

I have sorely missed my connection to the outside world and reality. It is so easy to get self absorbed in what is taking place and the drama and traumas. I have tried to keep in touch with the hopes of getting caught up on my reader. I have tried several times and life keeps getting in the way. Would you believe I spent 3 1/2 hours at a Toyota dealership getting my brakes replaced on Saturday with the hopes of getting caught up – they advertise complimentary WiFi. Well, it was pretty shotty WiFi – seems too much interference from all of the service computer equipment. Humph…why then I wonder, do they make a big deal about the WiFi and work stations in the waiting room if the WiFi moves at a snails pace?

Okay, gotta go. Time for an Epsom salt soak and Tylenol snack. Until we meet again……..tomorrow’s pet challenge perhaps?

kimberly xx

Entry filed under: blogging, communication, conversation, life, Personal, writing. Tags: , .

looking…simply Weekly Pet Challenge – the observant Pee

48 Comments Add your own

  • 1. madgirlmoon  |  August 18, 2014 at 8:08 pm

    Hey There Kimberly….
    I hear ya on the life happens stuff. But it’s a good thing life happens or it would be bloody boring !!!! I myself have 2 kids in college and one in high school still. Life is busy dealing with it all and work and trying to fit in your own things…but we are fighters. The last few years have been like riding a roller coaster. But what a ride huh?
    Take care of your back and keep on keepin’ on my friend,
    Kimberly aka madgirlmoon 😉
    Xo

    Reply
  • 2. InfiniteZip  |  August 18, 2014 at 8:08 pm

    Good golly, you take care of yourself!! Can’t wait to see your piece of course, but don’t overdo it my friend and I hope your driving is slowing up some:) be well Kim 🙂

    Reply
    • 3. words4jp  |  August 19, 2014 at 2:47 am

      Yes, driving is thankfully slowing down. Which is good since I cannot sit behind a wheel for too long. Backs are pains in the butts!

      Reply
  • 4. Pamela Beckford  |  August 18, 2014 at 8:30 pm

    Don’t let life overtake your inner joy. Turning 50 isn’t so bad (consider the alternatives). You can do this my friend.

    Reply
    • 5. words4jp  |  August 19, 2014 at 2:46 am

      Hi. I know. My friend Bill passed away at 51. I just spoke to Jordan and he is has his first day of school under his belt. 4 classes and liking it so far. Peyton is enjoying a few more days of no school before school starts on Thursday. As long as they are happy, I am happy;).

      Reply
  • 6. Mark Baron  |  August 18, 2014 at 8:46 pm

    My oldest started her first day at college today! I understand the feelings, and the crazy! Feel better, and remember – you write for you, not for us 🙂

    Reply
    • 7. words4jp  |  August 19, 2014 at 2:43 am

      Wow – I was the first time college parent last year. It was tough – more for me I think then him:). He actually adjusted beautifully. I just got off the phone with him and he is just about moved in. Already had 4 classes today and two tomorrow. I hope your daughter enjoys her college experience. 🙂

      Reply
  • 8. kismet  |  August 18, 2014 at 8:51 pm

    Sending you a biiiig hug ❤❤❤

    Reply
  • 10. Resa McConaghy  |  August 18, 2014 at 9:12 pm

    I’m in a similar boat, different, lake! 🙂 Take care!

    Reply
    • 11. words4jp  |  August 19, 2014 at 2:41 am

      Ouch. If you lived near me, we could hit the boat together. I hope you have a speedy recovery:)

      Reply
  • 12. gilhooley52  |  August 18, 2014 at 9:15 pm

    Take care of yourself! I hope you feel better soon.

    Reply
    • 13. words4jp  |  August 19, 2014 at 2:40 am

      I am trying. I could really go for a visit to that beach you wrote about the other day. I would prefer sand ‘everywhere’ as opposed to this pain in my backside I have now. ( did you get that? Wink wink)

      Reply
      • 14. gilhooley52  |  August 19, 2014 at 11:30 am

        Ha ha ha ha. The sun & sand are always healing.

  • 15. Yoshiko  |  August 18, 2014 at 9:18 pm

    Do take care of yourself, Kimberly, hope you are feeling better now

    Reply
    • 16. words4jp  |  August 19, 2014 at 2:38 am

      Thank you. I will:)

      Reply
      • 17. Yoshiko  |  August 19, 2014 at 3:02 am

        🙂 welcome

  • 18. Jonathan Caswell  |  August 18, 2014 at 9:32 pm

    Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    GOOD TO HEAR MORE ABOUT A FRIEND’S LIFE, EH?

    Reply
  • 19. Jonathan Caswell  |  August 18, 2014 at 9:33 pm

    ORT-ORT-ORT-ORT!!! 😀

    Reply
    • 20. words4jp  |  August 19, 2014 at 2:38 am

      You mean ouch – ouch – ouch;)

      Reply
  • 21. forgottenmeadows  |  August 18, 2014 at 9:36 pm

    aww so great to hear that your sons are doing well but so sad to hear of your injury! But keep up that spirit and do what you are doing and I will pray that you feel better in no time! xo

    Reply
    • 22. words4jp  |  August 19, 2014 at 2:37 am

      Thanks. I am happy you are back. I love your uplifting writing. I will try and get caught up sooner as opposed to later;)

      Reply
  • 24. Dom DiFrancesco  |  August 18, 2014 at 9:47 pm

    I hope your back heals quickly. I don’t have back problems, but I do realize that they are very very painful and I wouldn’t wish that on anyone. Take your time and get better soon my friend, we will all be here for you when you get back.

    Reply
    • 25. words4jp  |  August 19, 2014 at 2:37 am

      I am trying. 😉 I hope all is well with you.

      Reply
  • 26. Paul Handover  |  August 19, 2014 at 12:13 am

    Agree, and more so, with all your previous correspondents. Take care of yourself.

    Reply
    • 27. words4jp  |  August 19, 2014 at 2:36 am

      Thank you. I tried to put pee on my bed Saturday night – mistake. I hate not being able to take her for her usual walk. Between me slouched over a cane and her arthritic trembling in her back legs, we make quite an interesting pair. 😉

      Reply
  • 28. MichelleMarie  |  August 19, 2014 at 12:21 am

    Girl can you text? 😄😄❤️💗wow that was some wonderful info! Texting you! 😄

    Reply
    • 29. words4jp  |  August 19, 2014 at 2:34 am

      Hey. I just spoke to Jordy. He is settled in and getting used to stuff. I have made it to the bed after popping some Advil and slopping aspercreme all over the place – literally all over the place. I hope I get some sleep tonight. I have to try and go to work for at least a few hours. Grrrrr…….

      Reply
      • 30. MichelleMarie  |  August 19, 2014 at 3:34 am

        Go gosh! I sure hate that for you! I’d give you a shoulder to lean on i! I hope you get some relief! I wish there was something I knew you could do. I hope you can not have to take any shots. Hang in there! Wow

  • 31. John W. Howell  |  August 19, 2014 at 12:42 am

    The back needs rest. Having had crushed vertebrae in my day I can tell you rest is the answer. (plus margaritas)

    Reply
    • 32. words4jp  |  August 19, 2014 at 2:32 am

      Ouch. I have resorted to bite sized 3 Musketeers – didn’t take the pain away but they were emotionally uplifting;)

      Reply
  • 33. Svelte  |  August 19, 2014 at 1:05 am

    Oh noooos! Here’s to wishing you a speedy recovery. Take it easy, K. See ya on the upside! x 🙂

    Reply
    • 34. words4jp  |  August 19, 2014 at 2:30 am

      Thanks. I hope to be in the upside soon. Until then the floor is my friend:)

      Reply
  • 35. Dormis Aeternitas  |  August 19, 2014 at 2:37 am

    hmmm sorry to hear of your re-injury. Might want to try acupuncture and check out alternate therapies. Edgar Cayce wrote about Palma Christi castor oil which my mom used on her knees and shoulders, and swore by it. She was extremely anti-surgery. Hope you find relief soon.

    Reply
    • 36. words4jp  |  August 19, 2014 at 2:49 am

      Oh, me too. I will never have surgery. I did try acupuncture when this originally happened. It was not effective for me. I do have some homeopathic ointments. I will try the Palma Christi castor oil. I have never head of this one before. Thanks;)

      Reply
  • 37. Blog It Or Lose It  |  August 19, 2014 at 5:07 am

    I am so sorry Kim — I have bulging discs in my lower back and they’re bad enough — can only imagine what you’re going through. Be kind to yourself, okay? Sending hugs!!!! (Would you also like some virtual chocolate? It couldn’t hurt!)

    Reply
    • 38. words4jp  |  August 19, 2014 at 9:59 am

      Oh yes – virtual chocolate would be lovely. Thanks:)

      Reply
  • 39. theadventuresofrosebud  |  August 19, 2014 at 8:33 am

    I was just thinking “it’s weird Kimberly hasn’t posted anything” and here comes the explanation. Sending you all my best recovery wishes and waves of inspiration for wherever you may look. Big hug! x

    Reply
    • 40. words4jp  |  August 19, 2014 at 10:02 am

      Thank you. Pet challenge is coming later. I have a few things I may try to post. I am not good with the iPad of which I used to post this piece. I am going to try to post a few more things. 🙂

      Reply
  • 41. babsje  |  August 19, 2014 at 2:41 pm

    Oh dear, you have had quite a summer, don’t feel pressure to post on top of your very full life. Wishing a smooth, soft recovery for your back, and peaceful sleeping when the discomfort abates. Do take care! Best. Babsje

    Reply
    • 42. words4jp  |  August 19, 2014 at 8:41 pm

      Thank you. I am trying….:)

      Reply
  • 43. joeyfullystated  |  August 19, 2014 at 9:22 pm

    Sorry to read you’re feeling poorly 😦
    Our dog also suffers from stress at back-to-school time, too. Forlorn is the most apt word.
    I’m always hoping the best for you! 🙂

    Reply
  • 44. aFrankAngle  |  August 20, 2014 at 2:24 am

    Busy + achy = overwhelmed … so hang in there … and get the son to UC!

    Reply
    • 45. words4jp  |  August 20, 2014 at 10:48 pm

      I want the kid to go to UC! I can only imagine how the other one will feel – upset cause his little bro can eat Skyline and Graeters….whenever he wants!!

      Reply
      • 46. aFrankAngle  |  August 21, 2014 at 10:14 am

        At least UC is on his list!

      • 47. words4jp  |  August 22, 2014 at 1:37 am

        Yes. It would be sooo cool if he chose to go there. If he does, I may have to employ you as my spy;)

  • 48. Dan McGaffin  |  August 21, 2014 at 1:34 am

    Thinking of you my friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,915 other followers

The Archives


Samantha The Reader

THE BLOG IS ABOUT BOOKS , BOOKS , BOOKS !

spring tide voice

A Pursuit of Expression

