a dragonfly’s wings

August 5, 2014 at 3:45 pm 29 comments

~

have you ever looked upon a dragonfly’s wings

and

wondered to yourself ~

why?

~

why

with all of the many colors in the world,

are their wings transparent

to the human eye?

~

can it be nature’s gift to protect –

camouflage that which we see

or

maybe what we see is not to be questioned ~

it is exactly

HOW

it should be?

~

~

while pondering how, what and why

a hypothesis came to mind ~

wings such as these

must serve another purpose

than

simply a way in which to fly ~

~

i believe their transparency is magical

and

not just for the sake ofย  blending in

but

to MAGNIFY

the ordinary

and

all of the beauty which is surrounding them!

~
~
~

Entry filed under: answers, beauty, insects, musings, nature, poetry, ponderings, prose, questions, thoughts, writing. Tags: , , , , , , , .

a morning walk Wordless Wednesday – leaving…too soon…

29 Comments Add your own

  • 1. InfiniteZip  |  August 5, 2014 at 3:48 pm

    You are on a roll today my friend;) love this;)

    Reply
    • 2. words4jp  |  August 5, 2014 at 3:50 pm

      merci! i have actually been working on this one for quite a few weeks. it was one of those where the thoughts came and overflowed and then stalled. last night, the stall came to pass!

      Reply
  • 3. Christy Birmingham  |  August 5, 2014 at 4:30 pm

    Flight truly IS magnificent! Wonderful poem that catches the spirit here.

    Reply
  • 4. theadventuresofrosebud  |  August 5, 2014 at 4:54 pm

    The beauty of nature! Lovely piece ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 5. MichelleMarie  |  August 5, 2014 at 5:15 pm

    Wow I think it’s magic too! I love the way they dance and they are hard to catch! This is beautiful! I love is! ๐Ÿ˜€ โค

    Reply
    • 6. words4jp  |  August 5, 2014 at 10:36 pm

      Thanks. I

      Reply
    • 7. words4jp  |  August 5, 2014 at 10:37 pm

      Oops, I hit send too fast. I wanted to say thanks. I think they are so unique and the way they dart and dash is incredible.

      Reply
      • 8. MichelleMarie  |  August 6, 2014 at 1:49 am

        I agree! I try to capture them in photos and I’m not quick enough!๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜„I love this!

  • 9. rascallythoughts  |  August 5, 2014 at 5:29 pm

    Beautiful poem. I really love the last stanza.

    Reply
    • 10. words4jp  |  August 5, 2014 at 5:35 pm

      thank you so very, very much:)

      Reply
  • 11. Mark Baron  |  August 5, 2014 at 5:49 pm

    I adore this one. Not just because dragonflies fascinate me.

    Reply
    • 12. words4jp  |  August 5, 2014 at 8:32 pm

      If it is not just because dragonflies then what else?

      Reply
      • 13. Mark Baron  |  August 5, 2014 at 8:33 pm

        The imagery, the thoughts behind it. The idea that their wings are a form of magic reminding us of beauty. Love it!

      • 14. words4jp  |  August 5, 2014 at 8:35 pm

        I was thinking of their wings to be like droplets of water on leaves. Do you remember the movie A Bugs Life?

      • 15. Mark Baron  |  August 5, 2014 at 8:36 pm

        I do indeed! ๐Ÿ˜€

  • 16. Neeraj (nekneeraj)  |  August 5, 2014 at 6:00 pm

    Wow! This one’s so thoughtful and beautiful like a dragonfly.

    Reply
    • 17. words4jp  |  August 5, 2014 at 8:30 pm

      Thanks. This was a itty bitty challenge – with emphasis on challenge. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  • 18. richardankerswrites  |  August 5, 2014 at 6:48 pm

    A lot of thought over something that required it. Good job K ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • 19. words4jp  |  August 5, 2014 at 8:25 pm

      Thank you so much. I have actually been writing this for awhile. I was inspired by something I read – then I was uninspired. Then inspired again. It’s like the roller coaster of inspiration…….

      Reply
  • 21. syl65  |  August 6, 2014 at 12:38 am

    There is so much beauty in the ordinary, depends on how you look at it. Thanks for a beauty of a poem, Kimberly.

    Reply
  • 22. lumar1298  |  August 6, 2014 at 10:18 am

    I like it… I was trying to photograph one yesterday, but my point & shoot camera was not cooperating and I didn’t have my other camera with me…

    Reply
    • 23. words4jp  |  August 6, 2014 at 7:47 pm

      I am afraid my camera is an iPhone and iPad. I could not even remotely try to capture one of these beauties. But I tried the next best thing – writing about them:)

      Reply
  • 24. scottishmomus  |  August 6, 2014 at 3:01 pm

    I’m so glad the inspiration gelled. Your hypothesis is beautiful and intuitive. You have me thinking now that, although our eyes hold colour, the part that sees is also transparent and can magnify as also the lens of a camera. Your poem is an inspired piece and speaks on a number of levels to me.

    Reply
    • 25. words4jp  |  August 6, 2014 at 7:46 pm

      I am soo touched by your comments. Thank you so very much.

      Reply
  • 26. hitandrun1964  |  August 6, 2014 at 9:57 pm

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Lovely.

    Reply
  • 28. mrmodigliani  |  August 11, 2014 at 3:31 am

    This is a beautifully written piece about one of my favorite subjects. Thank you for writing.

    Reply
    • 29. words4jp  |  August 11, 2014 at 11:28 am

      Thank you for reading it. The last stanza is an actual comment written on another blogger’s site, which in turn was the inspiration for the piece.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,926 other followers

The Archives


Samantha The Reader

THE BLOG IS ABOUT BOOKS , BOOKS , BOOKS !

spring tide voice

A Pursuit of Expression

