a note to my neighbor

July 14, 2014 at 2:00 pm 41 comments

.

i do not know you

and

you do not know me.

our eyes have met a couple of times

but

words have never been exchanged.

i know you are troubled –

you keep to yourself.

i understand this need,

so

i keep my distance…..

.

you live across my driveway.

i see your house every single day.

we breathe the same air

and

we hear the same birds.

when i stand in my kitchen,

your red shades always stare at me

and

the old Ford Maverick smiles,

as i leave for work each day.

.

i have been thinking, as of late,

i have not seen you in a while.

no visitors stopping by

or

a trash can on the curb.

i know you are a very private person

but

being TOO alone can be a curse.

i worry.

.

.

i did not know you

and

you did not know me

but

if life had been different,

we may have been friends.

.

please know i wish you peace.

.

.

next door

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

.

Entry filed under: conversation, death, depression, feelings, grief, human nature, in memory of, life, loss, mental health, mental illness, Personal, poetry, prose, Relationships, thoughts. Tags: , , , , , , .

to revisit to rekindle

41 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mark Baron  |  July 14, 2014 at 2:14 pm

    This weekend, I reached out to a neighbor we never see, and asked him to join us for dinner. He declined respectfully, but we had a nice long chat on his porch, and I could tell he was happy to have the human interaction. I made him promise to let me cook for him this week. He said he would. 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. words4jp  |  July 14, 2014 at 2:25 pm

      My neighbor died. I do not know when. I saw her body being taken out in a body bag yesterday. She was a hoarder.

      Reply
      • 3. Mark Baron  |  July 14, 2014 at 2:33 pm

        Alas – I am sorry to hear it, my dear. *hugs*

      • 4. words4jp  |  July 14, 2014 at 2:39 pm

        I suspected she was a hoarder. Last summer. There have been incidents with family and police and fire dept.

        What is upsetting me is how long. How has she been gone. And next door. She was right next door. And alone.

      • 5. Mark Baron  |  July 14, 2014 at 2:47 pm

        If nothing else, it serves as a reminder, my dear, of the fragility of the thread that binds us to this world. And the importance of reaching out, of being reached out to. For what it’s worth, though we have never met, I read your words and take in them great comfort and friendship. I value the reaching out you do, and can but hope my own words grant you the same serenity that yours grant to me. 🙂

      • 6. words4jp  |  July 14, 2014 at 3:07 pm

        I am just overwhelmingly sad. This is the third time someone has died next door to me. The last time it was my friend. I knew something was wrong. I knew it.

        I cannot see another body bag.

  • 7. Yoshiko  |  July 14, 2014 at 2:18 pm

    Well written such experience

    Yoshiko

    >

    Reply
    • 8. words4jp  |  July 15, 2014 at 11:22 pm

      Thank you. I feel like she deserves something. Even it is a few words from some person who lived next door.

      Reply
      • 9. Yoshiko  |  July 16, 2014 at 12:11 am

        🙂

  • 10. syl65  |  July 14, 2014 at 2:33 pm

    Wow! Here today and gone tomorrow. A dose of reality. Thank you Kimberly.

    Reply
  • 11. MichelleMarie  |  July 14, 2014 at 2:46 pm

    I love this! What a beautiful moving piece! Following your gut or heart I think is always good. I am trying to get better at this. I love what you have shared here. It does move us when things like this happen. We get so busy with our lives. This is very touching! 😀

    Reply
  • 12. InfiniteZip  |  July 14, 2014 at 3:38 pm

    What a beautiful sad story in verse, you cared enough to write this and I am happy for people out there like you who notice such things.

    Reply
    • 13. words4jp  |  July 15, 2014 at 11:24 pm

      I wish I did more…than just notice.

      Reply
      • 14. InfiniteZip  |  July 16, 2014 at 8:59 am

        Peace my friend, don’t be so hard on yourself:(

  • 15. richardankerswrites  |  July 14, 2014 at 3:54 pm

    That was a very thought provoking piece as I certainly like to keep to myself. Great write.

    Reply
    • 16. words4jp  |  July 14, 2014 at 5:46 pm

      me, too. which to be honest, has always scared me. i know no one around me and have no family. except the boys who are not with me all of the time. it is a scary feeling. this woman had family, and they tried to help her, but she would have none of it. i cannot help but think she was there for days, alone and passed on. and how many times i drove by, walked by, looked at her house.

      Reply
      • 17. richardankerswrites  |  July 14, 2014 at 6:01 pm

        It’s a tricky one to know what’s best. On the plus points, you’ve got us lot now. (I hope you’re not laughing!!!)

      • 18. words4jp  |  July 15, 2014 at 11:31 pm

        I am smiling and laughing and very fortunate to have this “odd lot” of WP peeps. I do wish y’all would come and visit. Can’t you take a light jog this way? 😉

      • 19. richardankerswrites  |  July 16, 2014 at 6:44 am

        When I get out of the ocean do I turn left or right ?

  • 20. Paul Handover  |  July 14, 2014 at 4:02 pm

    How incredibly moving and such a sad outcome. But beautifully expressed by you!

    Reply
  • 22. hitandrun1964  |  July 14, 2014 at 4:33 pm

    😦

    Reply
  • 23. acuriousgal  |  July 14, 2014 at 5:14 pm

    It’s wonderful that you’ve taken an interest in her. I hope she’s ok.

    Reply
    • 24. words4jp  |  July 15, 2014 at 11:28 pm

      I wish she was. I am hoping she has found peace finally.

      Reply
  • 25. marcus  |  July 14, 2014 at 7:45 pm

    beautifully heartfelt with a sad dose of reality
    spirit howls

    Reply
    • 26. words4jp  |  July 15, 2014 at 4:01 am

      A quiet awhoo from the me pup. One of those sad awhoos, alone in the night. Trying to make sense of something that makes no sense.

      Reply
      • 27. marcus  |  July 15, 2014 at 2:50 pm

        The mystery of life. Sometimes these things move us to change and be better ourselves.
        You’ve a lovely heart M’lle.

      • 28. words4jp  |  July 15, 2014 at 11:52 pm

        I hope – I know that I will not forget her. Ever.

  • 29. Zara  |  July 14, 2014 at 8:11 pm

    Beautifully penned with truth of reality…!

    Reply
    • 30. words4jp  |  July 15, 2014 at 11:35 pm

      Thank you. It is a very sad reality.

      Reply
  • 31. Dom DiFrancesco  |  July 14, 2014 at 9:52 pm

    This kind of thing happens all too often, we don’t know our neighbors anymore, they are just acquaintances that we nod to every now and then. In my neighborhood we use to know everyone on the street, we would party together and travel together. Now they have all moved away and I haven’t really gotten to know any of my new neighbors the way I knew the “old” ones. Maybe I just don’t have it in me anymore, I don’t know.

    Reply
  • 32. Tucson Blonde  |  July 15, 2014 at 4:58 am

    So sorry to hear about this! It’s got to be hard on you. What happened was bound to; nothing you could have done. But it hurts all the same! {(HUGS)}

    Reply
    • 33. words4jp  |  July 16, 2014 at 2:39 am

      Hi – sorry to be getting to this reply a few days late. I know on many levels that there was nothing I could have done, but it I still disturbing and, yes, it is sad. A total waste of life across the driveway. And she was so alone. Of course, who am I to say that she was? Maybe in her world, she was not alone. I do not know, all I do know is that I am sad and regretting having not done anything.

      Reply
      • 34. Tucson Blonde  |  July 16, 2014 at 3:36 am

        You are an amazingly considerate person! It is important that we morn the passing of those people who touch our lives, whether they live right next door, or anywhere for that matter! I’m sure that your regret will diminish, as you find meaning in all of this! My prayers are with you!

  • 35. Blog It Or Lose It  |  July 15, 2014 at 8:18 pm

    I am so sorry Kim. 😦

    Reply
    • 36. words4jp  |  July 15, 2014 at 11:45 pm

      Hoarding is a terrible disease. I feel so bad.

      Reply
      • 37. Blog It Or Lose It  |  July 15, 2014 at 11:56 pm

        I wish I knew what to say that would bring some comfort — all I can do is send hugs your way.

      • 38. words4jp  |  July 16, 2014 at 12:16 am

        I appreciate them. Thank you:). I love giving them back. Syd is getting tired of me and the boys, well, they still do but, it is more grown upish. I can’t squeeze them like I used to.

      • 39. Blog It Or Lose It  |  July 16, 2014 at 12:53 am

        My kiddo’s the same way — used to crave hugs, now … not so much!!!

  • 40. Mytwosentences  |  July 15, 2014 at 10:52 pm

    Nicely done. I think many may borrow this for their own purposes.

    Reply
    • 41. words4jp  |  July 15, 2014 at 11:40 pm

      Thank you. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,915 other followers

The Archives


Samantha The Reader

THE BLOG IS ABOUT BOOKS , BOOKS , BOOKS !

spring tide voice

A Pursuit of Expression

