a story

July 2, 2014 at 2:32 am 16 comments

once upon a time,

i knew her.

i knew her very well.

she lived with me.

we laughed and cried.

we played and she stayed

∼ until ∼

after a passing of time, i lost her

∼ but ∼

only to find her again.

days, weeks, months and years – all passed

∼ and ∼

in the blink of an eye

she vanished – without a trace

∼ then ∼

one day, i found her.

walking down the street.

i took her home.

i loved her and cared for her

∼ but ∼

she did not stay long.

i woke up one morning.

she was gone.

through the years,

she comes and goes.

she stays for a short while.

she stays for a long while.

i never know when…

i will see her.

i do wonder,

∼ sometimes ∼

what if

she never comes back?

why do

i find her, if only to lose her?

what if

she is gone for good?

what if

I

AM

gone

forever?

Entry filed under: a story, feelings, human nature, life, love, memories, mental health, Personal, poetry, ponderings, prose, reflections, Relationships, thoughts, writing. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

her handiwork…above Wordless Wednesday – the lives of leaves

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. busymindthinking  |  July 2, 2014 at 2:38 am

    Brilliant and it resonated very deeply with me; but I believe you know me well enough, to know that it would. Warm embrace.

    Reply
  • 2. hitandrun1964  |  July 2, 2014 at 2:39 am

    So powerful and yet so easy to understand…familiar…recognizable.

    Reply
  • 3. belsbror  |  July 2, 2014 at 2:40 am

    Difficult questions only one’s self has the answer.

    Reply
  • 4. Svelte  |  July 2, 2014 at 2:53 am

    Fear not. You’ll soon be back and dare I say, even better. x

    Reply
  • 6. Jonathan Caswell  |  July 2, 2014 at 2:58 am

    Sounds like the life story of a couple of my cats. Pusscat came home one time wearing her flea collar like a bandolier of bullets! I still had to catch her and bring her back in the house! 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. MichelleMarie  |  July 2, 2014 at 3:26 am

    I wonder this sometimes myself but I know she will be back because I can see her! She’s still there she’s just resting I think. It takes a lot of energy to be a ballerina in life. You danced along time and now you are resting. I can see you! Just so you know you’re not gone! Hugs and love to you sweet friend! 😀

    Reply
  • 10. richardankerswrites  |  July 2, 2014 at 7:43 am

    Jen’s right, you’ll be back. And a wonderful write, Kim 🙂

    Reply
    • 11. words4jp  |  July 2, 2014 at 11:25 am

      Thank you. I never post at night, but I was trying to stay awake in which to pick Jordan up from work – at 11:30 last night. The story just storied it’s way out of my head. I am not much of a storyteller. I read it to Pee – she just fell asleep. I obviously need a better ending – more excitement to peak her interest. She is a tough critic;)

      Reply
      • 12. richardankerswrites  |  July 2, 2014 at 11:32 am

        Maybe you should end each story with the promise of dog biscuits 😉

      • 13. words4jp  |  July 2, 2014 at 11:33 am

        dang – you are good. this can be arranged….

      • 14. richardankerswrites  |  July 2, 2014 at 11:36 am

        I’ll be watching

  • 15. scottishmomus  |  July 3, 2014 at 10:34 am

    Never forever. It all feels like a cycle to me, loops of learning. Rediscovery with changes made at every turn of the loop. Does she ever feel exactly the same? I like this so much. Food for thought for when we next disappear.x

    Reply
    • 16. words4jp  |  July 3, 2014 at 12:17 pm

      You are right – I think sometimes life is a big spinning wheel – like the one on the playground. You jump on and take off. It is all fine and dandy at first but then the movement catches up with you – you get dizzy and nauseous. So, you jump off. Recover and do it all again!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,915 other followers

The Archives


Samantha The Reader

THE BLOG IS ABOUT BOOKS , BOOKS , BOOKS !

spring tide voice

A Pursuit of Expression

