suspended in time

June 17, 2014 at 1:00 pm 13 comments

∼ ∼

looking in his eyes

feet never touching the ground

once upon a waltz

∼ ∼

a ps:  Way back when I was in college, I took a historical dance class, which was taught by Mr. Richard Powers*, a famous dance historian known for his work in film, stage productions and workshops around the world.  Each class, a student had an opportunity to dance with the teacher.  My opportunity – my blessing  – came the day of the waltz.  He stood in front of me, took my hand and the other commandingly held my waist.  I was terribly jittery inside; nervous that I would step on his toes, or worse, break a limb.   When the music began, I was literally swept off my feet.  All I can say is that I have never, ever had a moment where I completely lost track of time and place.  All I saw were his eyes and, I can honestly say, I never felt my feet touch the ground.

There has never been a moment like this since.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richard_Powers_%28dance_historian%29

Entry filed under: a memory, a moment, artist, dance, dancing, haiku, memory, perfoming arts, Personal, poetry, reflections, thoughts. Tags: , , , , , .

Weekly Pet Challenge – Bed Piggy Pee stormy weather

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Desiree G  |  June 17, 2014 at 1:14 pm

    A moment some of us only dream of!! Thank you for sharing it with us!

    Reply
    • 2. words4jp  |  June 17, 2014 at 4:47 pm

      thank you. it was a wonderful moment in time:)

      Reply
  • 3. forgottenmeadows  |  June 17, 2014 at 1:18 pm

    aww beautiful piece and thank you for sharing your memory with us 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. words4jp  |  June 17, 2014 at 4:47 pm

      thank you. it was truly a magical moment, one only to be rivaled by the birth of my two boys:)

      Reply
  • 5. MichelleMarie  |  June 17, 2014 at 4:08 pm

    Wow! Wow! Wow! I had this visual image of you floating like that! I love that it was a marked time for you! 😀 I would love to see you dance. I bet it’s beautiful! 😀

    Reply
  • 7. babsje  |  June 17, 2014 at 4:57 pm

    Your poetry demands a slow reading, it is that sublime.

    Reply
    • 8. words4jp  |  June 17, 2014 at 9:56 pm

      Oh my, what an incredible compliment. I am so touched by your words. Thank you. 🙂

      Reply
      • 9. babsje  |  June 17, 2014 at 10:34 pm

        It is well-deserved! You’re welcome. 🙂

  • 10. hitandrun1964  |  June 17, 2014 at 5:38 pm

    Wow:)

    Reply
  • 11. Jonathan Caswell  |  June 18, 2014 at 12:15 am

    Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    AH…YES!!! 😀

    Reply
  • 12. heila2013  |  June 18, 2014 at 6:02 pm

    Wonderful. Enchanting.

    Reply
    • 13. words4jp  |  June 18, 2014 at 9:51 pm

      Thank you. It was….as if time stood still….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,915 other followers

The Archives


Samantha The Reader

THE BLOG IS ABOUT BOOKS , BOOKS , BOOKS !

spring tide voice

A Pursuit of Expression

