one day

May 3, 2014 at 6:26 pm 16 comments

i stand here with empty hands,

never warm

and

always alone.

they used to hold two little ones,

now grown up

and

on their own.

i stand here with an open heart,

never wanted

and

always alone.

wondering why

it has never been enough.

instead,

time and tears

have turned it stone.

i stand here with a crowded mind,

never quiet

but

a resounding, incongruous drone.

oh

how i wish for the day

when silence prevails,

i am at peace

and

no more –

alone

 

Entry filed under: depression, feelings, life, memories, Personal, poetry, prose, Relationships, thoughts, writing. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Weekly Photo Challenge – Spring! a blunder

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. PookyH  |  May 3, 2014 at 7:58 pm

    This terrifies me but it is most perfectly put. x

    Reply
    • 2. words4jp  |  May 4, 2014 at 2:52 am

      Thank you. I was telling someone the other day that when I was asked to approve a DNR order – do not resuscitate order for my mom when she was diagnosed with stage 4 pancreatic cancer, I asked my mother what I should. I had her power of attorney, being an only child and my father was too drunk out of his mind to make any decision. She quite simply looked at me and said she just wants peace. “I want to be in peace”. That has stuck with me ever since I heard her say it. I want it too.

      Reply
      • 3. PookyH  |  May 4, 2014 at 7:02 am

        What a difficult conversation though I can understand the desire for peace.

  • 4. WB  |  May 3, 2014 at 8:08 pm

    So much depth to this piece. Great work.

    Reply
    • 5. words4jp  |  May 4, 2014 at 2:47 am

      Thank you very much. There is more there than meets the eye.

      Reply
  • 6. Pamela Beckford  |  May 3, 2014 at 10:55 pm

    My heart breaks for you

    Reply
  • 8. Jonathan Caswell  |  May 4, 2014 at 4:00 am

    Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    ONE DAY AT PEACE, PERHAPS. A VERY MOVING AND SAD PIECE!

    Reply
  • 9. Morgan  |  May 4, 2014 at 5:00 pm

    I often feel this way as well. Singular in a world of pairs, but I know and trust that my Eternal Flame is there, amidst the masses, and Time is just waiting until we are both in the perfect place.

    Blessings my friend, of assurance and peace ~

    Reply
  • 10. Blog It Or Lose It  |  May 4, 2014 at 6:38 pm

    Hugs to you ….

    Reply
  • 11. Kirsten  |  May 4, 2014 at 10:49 pm

    This poem aches with emotion and pain. xoxoxo

    Reply
  • 12. urdamage  |  May 5, 2014 at 12:39 am

    loved this!

    Reply
    • 13. words4jp  |  May 5, 2014 at 2:24 am

      Thank you.

      Reply
      • 14. urdamage  |  May 5, 2014 at 6:11 am

        😉 Have an awesome day 🙂

  • 15. hastywords  |  May 7, 2014 at 7:10 pm

    omg omg omg big hug

    Reply
    • 16. words4jp  |  May 7, 2014 at 10:19 pm

      Thanks. I have been having a bad bout lately.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,927 other followers

The Archives


Samantha The Reader

THE BLOG IS ABOUT BOOKS , BOOKS , BOOKS !

spring tide voice

A Pursuit of Expression

