words from “excited editing”

April 27, 2014 at 4:03 pm 17 comments

¤

From the words of Jordan…

Sunday, 1:30am

¤

“STARTING to wrap up a late night of editing…

¤

you may think me crazy

with this mad look in my eye,

hair all disheveled because of earphones

and

unshaven for weeks.

¤

i will admit i have these moments –

as i edit my work,

where

i spin around in my chair –

sometimes

stare into space to collect my thoughts.

¤

i may start to cry

but

they are tears of joy

for

i am finally seeing a film come together.

¤

I have a rough cut now –

of about 1/3 of my film

and

when i look at it

i get goosebumps.

¤

i will finish on monday,

after making credits

and

color corrections

but

until i am done,

it is just me

and

my computer.

¤

have a good day tomorrow

or

i suppose it’s already TODAY!”

¤

¤

photo

a little note from the editing room

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

¤

¤

 

Entry filed under: conversation, creativity, dreams, feelings, film, goals, inspiration, life, love, Personal, poetry, prose, reflections, thoughts, words, writing. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

conceal…no more criticism

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pamela Beckford  |  April 27, 2014 at 4:05 pm

    Isn’t it exciting when your kids are doing something they love?

    Reply
    • 2. words4jp  |  April 27, 2014 at 4:08 pm

      Yes – i woke up to this email and I just started to cry – tears of overwhelming love and joy. I love the way my son writes. These are his words – minus the information on the Chunky Gumbo soup and the work he is doing on his friend’s film. They are a bunch of film geeks at school living their dream:)

      Reply
  • 3. ItMatterstoGrey  |  April 27, 2014 at 4:45 pm

    I love editing, it is hard to explain the feeling you get when a sequence just works. I get it and I am happy for him.

    Reply
    • 4. words4jp  |  April 27, 2014 at 5:00 pm

      🙂

      Reply
      • 5. ItMatterstoGrey  |  April 27, 2014 at 5:05 pm

        I have stayed up all night, editing a a sequence that is only 30 seconds long…

      • 6. words4jp  |  April 27, 2014 at 5:10 pm

        You understand my son, which is more than his father and step mother understand. They think he is playing around in a tablet….. Go figure.

      • 7. ItMatterstoGrey  |  April 27, 2014 at 5:16 pm

        He is making something, like blogging or anything else when he is done he will put it to others to see and critique, to love or hate it. In the end it doesn’t matter as long as his is satisfied with what he has created.

      • 8. words4jp  |  April 27, 2014 at 5:20 pm

        I know. He is a perfectionist. I think I birthed a Stanley Kubrick.

      • 9. ItMatterstoGrey  |  April 27, 2014 at 5:43 pm

        I have one at home that favor Tarantino..lol

      • 10. words4jp  |  April 27, 2014 at 6:21 pm

        They should meet and talk film geek speak.

      • 11. ItMatterstoGrey  |  April 27, 2014 at 6:30 pm

        Only I am done talking with him….lol I am the film geek.

      • 12. words4jp  |  April 27, 2014 at 6:34 pm

        Humph…y’all can start a support group. Talk about managing your editing beards and film geek equipment and what is the best way to light a specific scene in your film……lighting techniques, sound mixing, dealing with temperamental actors….

      • 13. ItMatterstoGrey  |  April 27, 2014 at 6:39 pm

        LOL…nice…

  • 14. hitandrun1964  |  April 27, 2014 at 6:27 pm

    That was so wonderful. I’m so happy for Jordan and for you…it’s perfect.

    Reply
  • 15. Dom DiFrancesco  |  April 28, 2014 at 5:54 pm

    Awesome…good for him. 🙂

    Reply
  • 16. Kirsten  |  April 29, 2014 at 9:25 pm

    What a gift to see that your baby boy has found his passion! Sounds so exciting 🙂

    Reply
    • 17. words4jp  |  April 29, 2014 at 9:47 pm

      It is. When the masterpiece is completed, I have been given permission to post it. I am going to have to figure a way to present it – some pomp and circumstance. I he he deserves a party:)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,926 other followers

The Archives


Samantha The Reader

THE BLOG IS ABOUT BOOKS , BOOKS , BOOKS !

spring tide voice

A Pursuit of Expression

