friend and foe

April 25, 2014 at 2:24 pm 23 comments

it is said

to keep one’s friends close

but

to keep one’s enemies closer

SO

could this explain

WHY

when i look in the mirror

i find

i am becoming less of a friend

and

more of an enemy –

to myself

?

Entry filed under: answers, depression, feelings, human nature, life, Personal, poetry, ponderings, prose, questions, reflections, Relationships, thoughts, writing. Tags: , , , , , , , .

a midnight stroll entree du jour

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Morgan  |  April 25, 2014 at 2:32 pm

    This is Marvelous 🙂
    ~Happy Friday!~

    Reply
    • 2. words4jp  |  April 25, 2014 at 3:41 pm

      Thanks. Happy Friday to you, too;)

      Reply
  • 3. MichelleMarie  |  April 25, 2014 at 3:36 pm

    Oh no that’s not good! Hugs to you sweet friend! Happy weekend to you and Pee Diddy

    Reply
    • 4. words4jp  |  April 25, 2014 at 3:39 pm

      Omg!! Pee Diddy is what her daddy called her. It was her rapper name that the boys (bill the big one and the two youngin’s ) have her.

      Reply
      • 5. MichelleMarie  |  April 25, 2014 at 6:34 pm

        When you first said you dogs name was Pee, I immediately thought of my friends Sherri that recently passed away suddenly and she used to call her youngest Granddaughter Pee Diddy. When she told me about her she would say Pee. Isn’t it amazing how one name can trigger all sorts of thoughts!!! That to me makes me smile because she had the funniest stories about Pee Diddy! 🙂

  • 6. Paul Handover  |  April 25, 2014 at 4:09 pm

    I won’t add my thoughts because you would say that I was becoming predictable!! 😉

    Reply
    • 7. words4jp  |  April 25, 2014 at 4:26 pm

      I am winking back at ya:)

      Reply
  • 8. Neeraj (nekneeraj)  |  April 25, 2014 at 4:31 pm

    Some dark thoughts need not to be considered. 😉

    Reply
  • 10. From Acorn To Oak  |  April 25, 2014 at 6:46 pm

    It depends on the FEELING when looking in the mirror….? XX

    Reply
  • 13. Elaine  |  April 26, 2014 at 5:10 am

    Oh goodness. I hope not!

    Reply
  • 14. Brenda  |  April 26, 2014 at 11:19 am

    Oh, that is a sad sand trap we face as we age, how to continue to love ourselves is key. I earned every gray hair!! I’m proud of my body, despite its flaws: it gave me three children, and carries through the days caring for my family. I could not ask it to look like Angelina Jolie, too. Although that would not be a gift I would have turned down were it possible. LOL

    Reply
    • 15. words4jp  |  April 26, 2014 at 11:25 am

      I am trying but am forever failing. One would think by the time I have reached the age I am —– shhhhh— late 40’s—–shhhhhhhh- I would be but – not.

      Reply
      • 16. Brenda  |  April 26, 2014 at 11:34 am

        That’s my age, too, but my kids are much younger that yours. I think it’s hard at any age with TV and magazines and media constantly presenting us with an idealized version of human and presenting the rest of us as pathetic and useless (see Springer). I doubt Walter Cronkite could even get a job in our world today. I ignore all that as much as I can, but I sat and watched some clone wars with my boys last night, and the female characters were skeletal. Princess Leia wasn’t fat, she was pleasantly rounded, but more of an achievable shape. I feel for my daughter. It’s a tough world, only getting tougher.

      • 17. words4jp  |  April 26, 2014 at 11:58 am

        I so agree. It is interesting that you bring this up – Jordan – editing beard guy – he looks very young. And he takes after his mom in the ways of height. He is 5′-7″. His dad is 6′-1″ and Peyton – the ‘little bro’ is currently almost 5′-11″. Jordan is self conscience. He feels that because of his height, he is and will not be taken seriously. He has mentioned that a beard makes guys look cool, older, manly. I believe he will get over this someday – soon – as he spends more time out in the real world and meet lots of manly men of his height. Btw – the ode is written;)

      • 18. Brenda  |  April 26, 2014 at 12:03 pm

        The male characters in clone wars are always taller than the female, too.

  • 19. Kirsten  |  April 26, 2014 at 7:28 pm

    I don’t like how that sounds…not one bit! You are beautiful inside and out, Kimberly. I wish you could see yourself the way all of us see you. One day you will…

    Reply
    • 20. words4jp  |  April 27, 2014 at 11:55 am

      I am not holding my breath……

      Reply
  • 21. Paul Handover  |  April 27, 2014 at 11:00 pm

    Kimberley, you know that LfD post I muttered about? It’s coming out tomorrow. Written from a place of friendship!

    Reply
    • 22. words4jp  |  April 28, 2014 at 12:07 am

      I am looking forward to reading it. xx

      Reply
  • 23. Having yourself as your best friend. | Learning from Dogs  |  April 28, 2014 at 8:01 am

    […] published another post the following day, friend and foe, that again struck me as being sad.  Read it and see if you agree with […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,926 other followers

The Archives


Samantha The Reader

THE BLOG IS ABOUT BOOKS , BOOKS , BOOKS !

spring tide voice

A Pursuit of Expression

