distortion

April 15, 2014 at 2:17 pm 21 comments

distortion is all i have ever known.

it is

the vision i see

when i look at me.

it is

molded by the words of others

and

a perception of what they feel a person should be.

it is

molded by those around me

whose lies i trusted

and

believed.

it is

molded by a society and its media

whose ideals are fueled

by power,

fairy tales,

money

and

greed.

most of all,

it is me.

empowered

by my psyche whose distorted vision

is impervious to all.

holds me prisoner

and

forbids me

to

be

free

..

.

Entry filed under: depression, eating disorders, feelings, humanity, life, memory, mental health, Personal, poetry, ponderings, prose, thoughts, writing. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Weekly Pet Challenge – Bunny Pee Wordless Wednesday – snow ‘passing over’

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MichelleMarie  |  April 15, 2014 at 3:03 pm

    OMG we are on the same page girl friend 🙂 May I reblog this? Here’s something for you in case you don’t get it.
    http://michellemarieantellg.wordpress.com/2014/04/15/full-of-lovefull-of-life/

    Reply
    • 2. MichelleMarie  |  April 15, 2014 at 3:04 pm

      Yes and when we finally realize we believed all those lies and we are perfect just the way we are! I’m still trying to wear that one but my spank is pinching the crap out of me. LOL KIDDING! 😀

      Reply
    • 3. words4jp  |  April 15, 2014 at 3:05 pm

      Yes, you may:) xx

      Reply
  • 4. John W. Howell  |  April 15, 2014 at 3:46 pm

    Distorted vision or no….go psyche go.

    Reply
  • 5. PookyH  |  April 15, 2014 at 7:48 pm

    this is a beautiful poem but a very difficult way to live….

    Reply
    • 6. words4jp  |  April 16, 2014 at 12:10 pm

      i know, but i have known no other – not to say that i cannot, i try…

      Reply
      • 7. PookyH  |  April 17, 2014 at 6:23 pm

        It’s funny how you are oblivious to these traits in others. I was surprised by this. I can empathise and I’m sorry that it’s this way, I just didn’t imagine it? xxx

      • 8. words4jp  |  April 17, 2014 at 6:27 pm

        i understand perfectly. I was very nervous about posting this and still am. but i did it. xx

      • 9. PookyH  |  April 18, 2014 at 8:09 pm

        Did you find writing it therapeutic? I think it’s brave to post it. I feel like that often about stuff I post but it’s amazing how the acceptance and support of others makes it feel like the right decision.. xxx

      • 10. words4jp  |  April 18, 2014 at 11:09 pm

        I did, though I am still nervous that I did it. You are right about the acceptance and support of others. It is a wonderful feeling to receive. xx

      • 11. PookyH  |  April 19, 2014 at 6:32 am

        It’s a lovely community.

        Well I thought it was very brave and beautiful x

  • 12. Kirsten  |  April 15, 2014 at 8:01 pm

    You describe my battle perfectly. I’ve struggled with a distorted image of myself for years. I’m really not fond of mirrors and I don’t see my insides the way I should either. I’m coming out the other side, but it has been an uphill battle. Stay strong, sweet friend!

    Reply
  • 14. hastywords  |  April 15, 2014 at 10:04 pm

    I love you and I love that you stepped out and posted this. You are beautiful even when you don’t realize it.

    Reply
    • 15. words4jp  |  April 16, 2014 at 12:05 pm

      thank you very much. you are too kind.

      Reply
  • 16. joeyfullystated  |  April 16, 2014 at 1:47 am

    Excellent yet again.

    Reply
    • 17. words4jp  |  April 16, 2014 at 12:05 pm

      thank you. xx

      Reply
  • 18. cindy knoke  |  April 16, 2014 at 2:59 am

    This is powerful and moving! Bravo~

    Reply
    • 19. words4jp  |  April 16, 2014 at 12:03 pm

      thank you:)

      Reply
  • 20. Elaine  |  April 17, 2014 at 2:53 am

    Excellent post! So many of us fall into those traps, the lies women believe. It’s nice when we get reminded that the lies are just that–no truth behind them whatsoever, Thank you for having the courage to share your feelings!

    Reply
  • 21. BECAUSE GIRLS ARE COOL – KIMBERLY | Hastywords  |  May 24, 2014 at 7:24 pm

    […] Distortion […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,926 other followers

The Archives


Samantha The Reader

THE BLOG IS ABOUT BOOKS , BOOKS , BOOKS !

spring tide voice

A Pursuit of Expression

