Daily Prompt: Express Yourself

April 5, 2014 at 3:26 pm 33 comments

ˆ

ˆ

ponytails trailing from behind

a bun on top

a cut and shave

topped with hats galore!

ˆ

ˆ

It seems I have always expressed myself through my hair….

Apparently I was bald as a baseball bat when I was born.  I had a pixie cut until the first grade when my dance teacher told my mom that a dancer must look like a girl and have hair – thus the era of ponytails, braids, buns, twists…….had begun.  It wasn’t until I was married and no longer dancing that I decided to ‘go short’.  My ex-hubs was not happy.   My response: “It is my head and I can do what I want with it”!  That did not fare too well, but as I said, it was MY head. I was the one who would have to carry it around all over the place.  So, the hair stayed short….until Jordan was born.  Being a new mom and unable to do anything but live as a dairy cow,  I grew it out and went back to ponytails. 

A few years later, Peyton was born and triathlon training.  Let’s just say that chlorine, swim caps, bike helmets and running hats do not make good bedfellows.  Also at this time, the ex-hubs was just about officially ex, so I decided to cut the hair – totally – as in shave.  I was not quite a Marine, a #3 blade to be exact.  (training convenience and an act of defiance!)  Jordan was not too happy – he locked himself up in his room for two hours.  Peyton wasn’t sure what to think and, to make a long story, this was the day that I educated my sons in what I like to call a women’s prerogative:)  (I did manage to soften the blow when I told them how cool it was to share the same hair cut as their mom!) 

Fast forward to now… I have kept it short.  I play with the lengths – a #2 or 3 or 4 blade.  There was a short while (oops, a pun) in which I grew it out ‘some’, but found it too taxing.  I had to do things with it and buy extra stuff for it – yuck.  I found longer hair to be a total waste of my time.

In summary, I love my short hair and have discovered I can wear really cool hatsyes, Sydnee Pee’s hats!.  Also, I never, ever, ever have to deal with bed head or a bad hair day.  There is no more fiddling for hours with a hair style or color, no more money spent on gooey gel stuff  and, most importantly, I still share the same hair cut as my boys.  How totally cool is that?

mommy's bucket hat

mom’s bucket hat

 ˆ

photo 2

mom wearing her bucket hat

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/04/05/daily-prompt-express-yourself/

 

Entry filed under: a tale, blogging, funny, jorio, life, musings, Personal, poetry, reflections, self expression, thoughts, weekly writing prompt, writing, writing prompt. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Weekly Photo Challenge: Threshold shopping with mom

33 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hitandrun1964  |  April 5, 2014 at 3:35 pm

    I love your dog and she is such a fashion hound. Sicking with the red, however, that’s her color. A lovely scarf and a red tam. I can see her in Paris, on the runway.

    Reply
    • 2. words4jp  |  April 5, 2014 at 4:01 pm

      Hah – wait till Tuesday……..red will strike again……

      Reply
  • […] Daily Prompt: Express Yourself | Words4jp’s Blog […]

    Reply
  • […] Daily Prompt: Express Yourself | Words4jp’s Blog […]

    Reply
  • […] Daily Prompt: Express Yourself | Words4jp’s Blog […]

    Reply
  • 6. joeyfullystated  |  April 5, 2014 at 6:22 pm

    You wear it well. (by not wearing it) 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Bed Talks | Views Splash!  |  April 5, 2014 at 7:21 pm

    […] Daily Prompt: Express Yourself | Words4jp’s Blog […]

    Reply
  • 10. Skye @ TheSanctuaryofMyHeart  |  April 5, 2014 at 7:22 pm

    I love your smile. It makes me smile! 😀 <—-Just like that!

    Reply
  • 13. viewsplash  |  April 5, 2014 at 7:30 pm

    My wife has bouts of hair trimming when she’s upset! Thank God she’s not upset a lot! lol

    Reply
    • 14. words4jp  |  April 5, 2014 at 9:40 pm

      Aha! I have come to the conclusion that guys like gals with hair;).

      Reply
      • 15. viewsplash  |  April 6, 2014 at 4:49 am

        Oh absolutely! But in a very strange way I won’t mind some specific ladies not having hair! 😀

  • 16. richardankerswrites  |  April 5, 2014 at 7:31 pm

    You can’t do a post like that and then wear a hat in the picture!!!!! LOL 😉

    Reply
    • 17. words4jp  |  April 5, 2014 at 7:54 pm

      You r right. I going to have to write a post about hats and use a picture with a naked head!!

      Reply
      • 18. richardankerswrites  |  April 5, 2014 at 7:54 pm

        That might work?

      • 19. words4jp  |  April 5, 2014 at 7:56 pm

        ??? We will have to see…….

  • 20. PookyH  |  April 5, 2014 at 7:48 pm

    I just get bored of my hair too fast! I had long blonde hair all my life until about five years ago. Now, having been through a full gammut of other styles and colours I’m growing my hair back out again and reverting to blonde (we’ll see how long that lasts…)

    Reply
    • 21. words4jp  |  April 5, 2014 at 7:54 pm

      Awesome. I say whatever floats your boat!!

      Reply
      • 22. PookyH  |  April 5, 2014 at 7:55 pm

        Or keeps your head warm 😉

      • 23. words4jp  |  April 5, 2014 at 7:59 pm

        I will admit that wearing hats in the winter come out of necessity, but, like I said no hat head affliction is kinda nice. When I had a stylin’ do I did not wear a hat in the winter. Ended up getting sick. You know the saying : better to look good than feel good? That was me;)

      • 24. PookyH  |  April 6, 2014 at 8:20 pm

        I love wearing hats but when I had very short, styled, hair this last winter I went hatless. Luckily it was out mildest winter for many years and by the time we have the next winter my hair will be more forgiving of hats 🙂

  • […] Daily Prompt: Express Yourself | Words4jp’s Blog […]

    Reply
  • 26. Daily prompt: Creatively | The Wandering Poet  |  April 5, 2014 at 11:56 pm

    […] Daily Prompt: Express Yourself | Words4jp’s Blog […]

    Reply
  • 27. sweetlittlenetwork  |  April 6, 2014 at 12:07 am

    lovely post. I too, express myself through hair. Ive just begun to embrace my neurotic curls as well. Hair is an expression that can become an obsession. Coincidentally, my mum shaved her head for a few years as well. She has finally allowed it to grow, and dreams of the shaven head, she once had.

    Reply
  • […] Daily Prompt: Express Yourself | Words4jp’s Blog […]

    Reply
  • 29. [M.M.X.I.V. 95] The dancing feet | Never A Worry  |  April 6, 2014 at 9:40 pm

    […] Daily Prompt: Express Yourself | Words4jp’s Blog […]

    Reply
  • 30. Kirsten  |  April 6, 2014 at 11:56 pm

    This was great. I express myself through my hair too. I’ve been boy short to middle of my back. Color: Well, black, red, brown, blonde, and highlights on all colors! lol I get bored easily! By the way, the hat looks wonderful on both of you!!

    Reply
  • […] Daily Prompt: Express Yourself | Words4jp’s Blog […]

    Reply
  • 32. hastywords  |  April 10, 2014 at 4:14 pm

    you are GORGEOUS

    Reply
    • 33. words4jp  |  April 12, 2014 at 1:55 am

      Thanks. That was many years ago.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,926 other followers

The Archives


Samantha The Reader

THE BLOG IS ABOUT BOOKS , BOOKS , BOOKS !

spring tide voice

A Pursuit of Expression

