of mice and soldiers

December 15, 2013 at 2:45 pm 12 comments

party is over

soldiers prepare for battle

the mice come alive

he stands regal and ready

triumph and the damsel waits…..

nuts

Nutcracker – 1979

In case you have not noticed, I have a Nutcracker collection.  Each one holds a very special place in my heart.  The big one was given to me in 1979 – the second year I danced the role of Clara.  The little one on the left was an ornament my mother had made for me.  It is a handcrafted Nutcracker.  The little guy on the right was given to me by one of the little children in the cast.

Entry filed under: ballet, dance, dreams, friendship, holidays, love, memories, perfoming arts, Personal, poetry, ponderings, Relationships, tanka, The Nutcracker, thoughts. Tags: , , , , , .

Waltz of the Flowers Der Nussknacker

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dom DiFrancesco  |  December 16, 2013 at 2:43 am

    Great poem Kimberly and by the way I love the new theme. 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. words4jp  |  December 16, 2013 at 1:17 pm

      Thank you – I sort of stumbled into….. 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. words4jp  |  December 18, 2014 at 1:34 pm

    Reblogged this on Words4jp's Blog and commented:

    The Nutcracker is comprised of two acts. Act I begins with a party scene, followed by a battle between the toy soldiers and mice and concludes with the Land of Snowflakes.

    Reply
  • 4. nottooold2  |  December 18, 2014 at 1:40 pm

    Something tells me you “stumble” very rarely. 😉
    Well done. So the Nutcracker is your favorite, what are your second & third favorite performances?? Inquiring minds want to know. (Namely Me)

    Reply
    • 5. words4jp  |  December 18, 2014 at 1:59 pm

      My favorite ballet is Swan Lake and I was blessed to be cast as a swan, as well as, one of the 4 little swans. Also a Wili in Giselle. I have a very special place in my heart for Serenade for Strings – a Balanchine ballet to the music of the same name by Tchaikovsky. and i stumble quite a bit. literally and figuratively – this i can assure you.

      Reply
      • 6. nottooold2  |  December 18, 2014 at 2:05 pm

        I know Swan Lake, but not the others. Maybe I need to get out more. 🙂
        It may be true that you stumble (as we all do), but I will tell something I’ve noticed. You frigging come alive when discussing ballet and it is wonderful to see. 🙂

      • 7. words4jp  |  December 18, 2014 at 2:18 pm

        Serenade for Strings is the first ballet choreographed by George Balanchine when he came to America – the music is stunning and if you are familiar with classical music and waltzes, in particular, then you most probably have heard the waltz from this composition. Tchaikovsky composed some of the most, if not most recognizable waltzes for classical music and especially for ballet. Giselle – music by Adolfe Adam – is beautiful ballet and the second act – is stunning. It is looked upon as one of the famous white acts in ballet – named so because of the costumes – white tutus. The Wilis wear long white tutus. Incidentally, Act 2 of Swan Lake is a white act. I listen to alot of classical music while working – serenade for strings is perfect – here is the waltz – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vZg9Da3Tl6I

      • 8. nottooold2  |  December 18, 2014 at 2:47 pm

        Look at you all excited talking about it. I love it!! 😀
        I can handle only so much classical music. Mozart typically because it’s calming. I found that Beethoven pisses me right the F off. I can be in a great mood and if Beethoven is on in the background, I will be inexplicably angry in less than 10 mins. It’s crazy.

      • 9. words4jp  |  December 18, 2014 at 3:31 pm

        Maybe it’s Ludvig’s hair? Rubs you the wrong way?

      • 10. nottooold2  |  December 18, 2014 at 3:44 pm

        He’s a psycho for sure, but something about his music riles me. It’s insane I tell ya!! 🙂
        I actually tossed a 2 CD Collector set in the trash because it made me so damn mad. It wasn’t fair to my family to have to deal with me like that. True story. I remember standing at the sink doing dishes, feeling just fine… then it came over me and I was angry. Walked to the CD player, took the disk out, put in the case with the other one and tossed it in the trash. Bam!! Are there any ballets to a Beethoven score?? If so, I bet they are all bloodshed and mayhem. Hahaha

      • 11. words4jp  |  December 18, 2014 at 3:54 pm

        You wash dishes? You are a guy right – if you are, i am not familiar with your particular species of the breed.

      • 12. nottooold2  |  December 18, 2014 at 4:18 pm

        Yep, and I enjoy it. I also iron the clothes for the entire family every night. It’s therapeutic. Plus I can’t stand wrinkles. 😉

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,915 other followers

The Archives


Samantha The Reader

THE BLOG IS ABOUT BOOKS , BOOKS , BOOKS !

spring tide voice

A Pursuit of Expression

