a chance meeting

December 4, 2013 at 2:47 pm 7 comments

their world has been touched

sprawling humans from afar

surprise encounters

four legs cross paths with two* legs

dangers of coexistence

.

*two can be four or, in Sydnee’s case, three legs

Quite simply, there is a coyote in my neighborhood.  (My neighborhood borders a farm with no fencing) I have had my suspicions – seeing a long four-legged ‘something’ walking at night without a leash or owner about.  Last night, my suspicions came true.  Face to face.  Fortunately, I saw him/her in the lamplight.  I stopped, he/she stopped.  I stood still, he/she stood still.  (Sydnee was oblivious – sniffing grass was way more interesting.)  I then proceeded to yank Syd’s leash once and walked quickly in the opposite direction.  Our new neighbor did the same, in our direction, but kept its distance.  We did not run because I did not want to startle the coyote and, chances are, Sydnee’s fierce stubbornness would kick in and she would instantly come to a halt.

So, I have come to the conclusion that I must change our walk route at night and early morning.  Away from the woods and the field, which then leaves us in the neighborhood, which then means too many distractions for Sydnee Pee, which then means our walks will take twice as long 🙂  It is okay.  I am all for coexistence!

Entry filed under: animals, dogs, life, nature, Personal, Pets, poetry, Relationships, tanka, thoughts, walking. Tags: , , , , , , .

12:10am to 5am remnants

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Morgan  |  December 4, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    I love this…. Me too 🙂 Great Post!

    Reply
    • 2. words4jp  |  December 4, 2013 at 5:03 pm

      Thanx. It was a bit of a surprise. I do not want anything happening to my girl. I was told once that animals can sense weakness in other animals. Considering she is down one leg, I get into ultra protective mom mode;)

      Reply
  • 3. Dom DiFrancesco  |  December 4, 2013 at 10:16 pm

    Fortunately coyotes appear to be pretty skittish, we have lots of them around out here and they seem to be quite afraid of humans, barring rabies I suppose. I even had one come running across the street early in the morning when I was riding my bike, he came at a full charge directly toward me until he saw me which was within about 4 feet, he then came to a screeching halt, turned and ran the other way. I have even had a pair of them stand and stare at me as I road past them on the bike trails. Hopefully your new neighbor will move on fairly quickly so that you can resume you more rural routine with your girl. 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. words4jp  |  December 5, 2013 at 9:15 pm

      I am going to start carrying my pepper spray and whistle. 🙂 I have gotten so really great ideas! No worries, Syd and I will persevere!

      Reply
  • 5. cindy knoke  |  December 4, 2013 at 11:17 pm

    You can carry a marine air horn or bear spray…..both will cause them to leave you alone. Just carrying one of them works. Coyotes are smart and it is not good when they don’t run away….

    Reply
    • 6. words4jp  |  December 5, 2013 at 9:17 pm

      awesome ideas – i have pepper spray and a whistle – not certain how a whistle compares to a marine air horn in regards to effect, but i will carry it anyways:)

      Reply
  • 7. acuriousgal  |  December 5, 2013 at 12:15 am

    Watch out for those Coyotes….bad news!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,919 other followers

The Archives


Samantha The Reader

THE BLOG IS ABOUT BOOKS , BOOKS , BOOKS !

spring tide voice

A Pursuit of Expression

