shadows

October 27, 2013 at 2:15 pm 19 comments

ς

there is a sadness

which flows freely through my veins

with every beat of my heart.

it’s a darkness i cannot seem to let go –

even when it is tearing me apart.

ς

it is easy for some to say throw it away,

shut out the dark,

only let in the light

but

how can they know what i see inside,

how i feel

and

the demons i fight?

ς

i do have days when i walk in the light –

i see ‘hope’ as bright as the sun

however

behind every ray is a shadow of darkness

waiting patiently to trip me up.

ς

i have come to discover

this sadness i feel

is a part of me i cannot deny –

like an object which stands in rays of the sun,

a patient shadow

awaits

from

behind.

ς

ς

ς

Entry filed under: darkness, depression, feelings, life, Personal, poetry, prose, Relationships, thoughts. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

i still flames

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. acuriousgal  |  October 27, 2013 at 2:18 pm

    I like what you said about it being a part of you. I’m also glad to hear that you have days where you see the light.

    Reply
  • 3. justme792  |  October 27, 2013 at 2:21 pm

    I hope the happy days outnumber the sad days! I agree both are a part of every single person… Beautiful poem ^^

    Reply
    • 4. words4jp  |  October 27, 2013 at 3:20 pm

      Thank you so much for your comment. 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. joeyfullystated  |  October 27, 2013 at 2:28 pm

    I identify with this piece. Well done.

    Reply
    • 6. words4jp  |  October 27, 2013 at 3:20 pm

      Thank you for your very sweet comment.

      Reply
  • 7. WB  |  October 27, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    This was really good. Excellent poem, and I think many will be able to identify with your writing. Great piece.

    Reply
    • 8. words4jp  |  October 27, 2013 at 5:17 pm

      Thank you very much.

      Reply
  • 9. Olivia Stocum  |  October 27, 2013 at 6:20 pm

    Nice job. The human condition. At least it is for me.

    Reply
    • 10. words4jp  |  October 28, 2013 at 10:11 am

      Many hugs to you. xx

      Reply
      • 11. Olivia Stocum  |  October 28, 2013 at 12:38 pm

        U2 XX

  • 12. deanabo  |  October 27, 2013 at 11:08 pm

    You wrote of a pain and darkness that I know too well. You did an amazing job depicting with your words.

    Reply
    • 13. words4jp  |  October 28, 2013 at 10:08 am

      Thank you very much. xx

      Reply
  • 14. kimmiecricketsays  |  October 28, 2013 at 10:33 am

    Very well written and sadly I can feel your pain. I used to live there too. Gradually there will be more days living in the light 🙂

    Reply
    • 15. words4jp  |  October 28, 2013 at 11:47 am

      Thank you for your sweet words. I do hope – I have trouble at this time of year. It seems each winter the shadows get longer and wider.

      xx

      Reply
  • 16. aFrankAngle  |  October 28, 2013 at 12:27 pm

    The light … the light … focus on the light like a beacon that it is!

    Reply
    • 17. words4jp  |  October 29, 2013 at 1:53 am

      I do. I am. I will and in stripes. I am focusing on tiger stripes – Bengals!!!!! Who Dey!!

      Reply
  • 18. thehappyhugger  |  October 28, 2013 at 2:53 pm

    I can relate. Take care my friend…

    Reply
    • 19. words4jp  |  October 29, 2013 at 1:51 am

      Thank you. You, too. xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,926 other followers

The Archives


Samantha The Reader

THE BLOG IS ABOUT BOOKS , BOOKS , BOOKS !

spring tide voice

A Pursuit of Expression

