a quickie Howdy Doo

October 10, 2013 at 8:47 pm 20 comments

Howdy Doo Y’all –

I wanted to let you in on a little excitement!  I am very thrilled and I am about to burst……. Jordan is coming home this weekend!!!!!!  In less than two days…..

He is taking the bus home on Friday afternoon. I pick him up at night around 10ish.  He will be here through Monday and busing it back to campus on Tuesday.  Monday is Columbus Day (this is a national holiday in the USofA) and school takes a mid-term break.  He is primarily here to work at the amusement park – Six Flags Great America – where he labored this past summer.  They have a big Halloween thingamajig where they decorate the park with scary ghouls, add a few haunted houses and several dozen ‘extra employees’ to walk around the park in makeup and costume.  Their ghoul – oops, meant goal – is to scare the pants off the park patrons.  My son will be amidst all of the activity with a camera – video taping the ‘going’s on’.

Jordan will be staying with Pee and I.  Peyton will be out-of-town with his dad and step mom, visiting his step sister at her university.  I am not certain what Pee will do.  I am planning on taking her vroom in the car to pick him up.  If I know my girl, she will cry, and give him lots of kisses.  She will then give him the cold shoulder (he is the one that left her) and when all is said and done, she will be honky dory.  (Translation:  He takes her for a walk, gives her a boney, some tum tum and she gets first dibs on ‘her’ side of ‘her’ bed.).  I have not seen Jordan since mid-August, the longest I have ever been parted from either of one my children.  We have texted, emailed and Skyped, but I have not been able to hug him and this I miss terribly.  I am hoping I do not squeeze him to bits:)

On a separate, yet related note, I realize I have been a bit distant on my reader. For the past three weeks, I have been preparing for the momentous arrival, which means I have been cooking.  I made chili, chicken soup, Buffalo Mac & Cheese (his 3 faves), pulled pork carnitas and pumpkin oatmeal.  I have had my trusty assistant tasting, I mean assisting – Peyton – who has indulged in all of the goodies.  My freezer is filled to the brim.

I really have no big plans for the weekend except spend every second I can with Jordan – that is when he is not working.  When he is working, I will be cooking – I still need to make my meatloaf, turkey burgers and granola.  I will also shop for whatever it is he needs to take back to school.

I will keep in touch – I have so much on my mind – much to write.  I will also take photos!  I can’t help but wonder if Jordan has grown a bit more. (I grew an inch my freshman year in college.)  I can tell already he has matured some, BUT I can bet all of his new-found maturity will be left at school – he is coming to stay with mom so why bother bringing it home?

Until I type again…….which will be soon……. Kimberly xx

oh – here are a few pics….

chili

my chili

Peyt and chili

Peyton eating chili
a four-way bean chili
(it’s a Cincinnati thing…)

chix soup

chicken soup with egg noodles
& parsnips, carrots, celery

freezer

state of the freezer
pre-carnitas storage

pititful

a moping Pee on ‘her’ couch
with a tugtug (old sock), blankey & pillow

Entry filed under: blogs, family, feelings, life, love, musings, Parenting, Personal, photo journal, ponderings, Relationships, sons, teenagers, update, writing. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

man in the moon not far but away

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. acuriousgal  |  October 10, 2013 at 9:09 pm

    Awwww!! I’m so happy for you, Kimberly!! Have a wonderful reunion with your son!! Last year, when my daughter went to UW-Madison, I could hardly wait till she got home! I think I hugged her forever!!!! Enjoy!!

    Reply
  • 2. Skye @ TheSanctuaryofMyHeart  |  October 10, 2013 at 9:14 pm

    I am so happy for you, Kimberly!!! I hope every moment spent together is blessed. You deserve this time of happiness, Sweet Friend!! Enjoy!!

    Reply
  • 3. heila2013  |  October 10, 2013 at 9:15 pm

    I feel your happiness and excitement. Hugs.

    Reply
  • 4. ladysighs  |  October 10, 2013 at 9:44 pm

    You have every right to be excited and happy. We are all rooting for you!

    Reply
  • 5. Pamela Beckford  |  October 11, 2013 at 2:36 am

    Oh I am feeling so happy for you. I hope you have a grand weekend. Those are hard. Especially when they leave again. Enjoy life every second

    Reply
    • 6. words4jp  |  October 13, 2013 at 3:51 pm

      i am – every second – trying not to think of tuesday….
      he is so funny – i miss his sense of humor and big hugs:)

      Reply
  • 7. Shainbird  |  October 11, 2013 at 9:44 am

    Sweet post Kimberly! Have a wonderful time!

    Reply
  • 9. aFrankAngle  |  October 11, 2013 at 11:05 am

    Your son’s first trip home …. no wonder you are excited and have been cooking up a storm! Enjoy the weekend!!!!! …. and glad to see Peyton eating chili Cincinnati style!

    Reply
    • 10. words4jp  |  October 13, 2013 at 3:49 pm

      we only eat Cincy chili:)

      Reply
      • 11. aFrankAngle  |  October 14, 2013 at 12:09 am

      • 12. words4jp  |  October 14, 2013 at 5:48 pm

        awesome – thans for the link – I will share with my partners in cincy chili crime:)

      • 13. aFrankAngle  |  October 14, 2013 at 7:39 pm

        Glad it could bring a smile!

  • 14. petitemagique  |  October 11, 2013 at 3:45 pm

    I am so happy for you my friend! 🙂
    Have a great weekend!
    Hugz ♥

    Reply
    • 15. words4jp  |  October 13, 2013 at 3:49 pm

      thanks we are – I will be back soon… xx

      Reply
  • 16. gita4elamats  |  October 12, 2013 at 4:05 pm

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    Reply
    • 17. words4jp  |  October 13, 2013 at 3:24 am

      Thank you. We are;)

      Reply
  • 18. ordinarygirlinbrum  |  October 13, 2013 at 12:43 am

    Enjoy your time with him, I’m sure you will 🙂 x x x

    Reply
    • 19. words4jp  |  October 13, 2013 at 3:24 am

      I am. He is working right now – Getting ready to pick him up from work – at 11:30om!! It is so nice to have him home. I have missed him so much;)

      Reply
      • 20. ordinarygirlinbrum  |  October 13, 2013 at 11:03 am

        I’m glad you get this time with him. And I’m dreading mine being far away… x x x

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,915 other followers

The Archives


Samantha The Reader

THE BLOG IS ABOUT BOOKS , BOOKS , BOOKS !

spring tide voice

A Pursuit of Expression

